Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2007, 04:57 PM
WakeboardTN's Avatar
WakeboardTN WakeboardTN is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: 2007 Mastercraft X-Star
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Thumbs up Ipod hookup for the Clarion XMD 1

I wanted to share my experience on making one of those custom cables from someone who has never soldered a single wire. It took about 6 hours of trial and error but I finally made one sucessfully.

I used the information from this resource:
http://www.planetnautique.com/index....&postorder=asc

Though informative, it still didn't quite answer my questions. It seems there was an easier alternative to soldering if you read the posts on page 8 or 9. Many people ordered the 13 pin dinn prewired - and the intructions in the final pages of the posts seemed to help newcomers without much trouble at all...

But for me - I had already ordered the 13 pin dinn, bought stereo headphone wire, pole switch, 30 watt solder gun and used an old cat 5 cable (ethernet) and cut all the wires off each side but two (the green and the green/white). Any two wired cable should do.

I'll save you the drama and cut to the final outcome and hopefully answer questions that I had:

1) The diagram on the site DOES show the perspective from the PLUG side - so you should solder your wire in reverse order.

2) If you've never soldered before, I found it easier to pull 5 pins out of the plug with needle nose pliers (they pop right out) solder the wires to each plug independently and then plug then back into the coresponding holes.

3) I paid extra special care to make sure the solder and none of the other wires touched (obvious, but some ppl had shorts and I suspect this was the cause).

4)I had the best luck with this when I just stripped about 1/4 of an inch of exposed wire from each wire and soldered it to the pin. I used
someone else to hold the wire and the pin, while I fumbled with the solder job - it worked out nicely.

5) Before I knew the diagram was in reverse I tried it on my boat and it almost melted my ipod - it was ok but there is a faint hot wire smell on my ipod - so my advice is when you throw the switch and it doesn't say ACCS on the unit - then don't try to plug anything into the headphone jack.

I hope my recent experience can benefit other boat owners who may have had the same questions that I had. If you haven't bought your set up yet ... please read the last few pages in the article above and purchase the prewired setup - it seemed like ppl had sucess with that method.

-Raleigh
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2007, 08:44 AM
cm02WS6's Avatar
cm02WS6 cm02WS6 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Boat: 2001 Prostar 209
Location: Decatur, Illinois
Posts: 55
Good tips! I went through melting two of the solder-type connectors before jumping to the pre-wired connector. I wish I knew the tips would just pop out, that would have saved me a little time and money!
__________________
Chris
2001 Prostar 209
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:23 AM
BuoyChaser's Avatar
BuoyChaser BuoyChaser is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: MasterCraft, Prostar 197, 2005, 350 MCX
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,612
so can you use your "ipod" controls to control the playlists and songs???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:32 AM
WakeboardTN's Avatar
WakeboardTN WakeboardTN is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: 2007 Mastercraft X-Star
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Yeah, you're able to plug your ipod (or any other media with a headphone jack) into your boat. The cable will allow you to use whatever media controls are on the device, and you'll hear the sound through the speakers. You're basically making an "audio in" plug.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2007, 11:37 AM
BuoyChaser's Avatar
BuoyChaser BuoyChaser is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Boat: MasterCraft, Prostar 197, 2005, 350 MCX
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,612
nobody makes one of these???what about using the White/Red RCA inputs on the back of the head unit???

i bought the "clarion" cd changer unit for $99 and bums me out because i have to go "song-by-song" in Clarion01 playlists...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:26 PM
grantroberts's Avatar
grantroberts grantroberts is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: 2002 Prostar 209, tower, Predator
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 19
I had a local guy solder one of these up for me last year. Not pleased at all, really. It works, but I'd say that the sound quality is similar to that of an AM radio. How's the sound on yours? I'm convinced the only way to get good sound with an iPod set-up is plugging into the big jack in the bottom of the iPod (as opposed to the headphone jack). So, next on my list is to get a new head unit that can accomodate that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:29 PM
WakeboardTN's Avatar
WakeboardTN WakeboardTN is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: 2007 Mastercraft X-Star
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Well, I looked all over and couldn't find anything that was ready-made. The Clarion XMD3 has the extra RCA inputs built right into the back. I first bought a RCA-to-headphone cable but the XMD1 has 2 channels front and rear or cabin and tower respectively. So I would just hijack the tower speakers and play then through my ipod while the XMD unit was off. That got old really fast so I decided to try and make my own cable with the class of others.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2007, 12:33 PM
WakeboardTN's Avatar
WakeboardTN WakeboardTN is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Boat: 2007 Mastercraft X-Star
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
The sound on mine was really good - Now I wasn't able to REALLY test it out the water yet. But I played it at 11:30 am from my boat in covered storage and it sounded crisp and clear. But I can't really speak for it yet for being used out on the lake in the real environment.

Was the sound full of static, or just not Full? I can atleast tell you the sound was crisp and clear at a low valume. Did you buy the stereo headphone-headphone plug or just the mono? (I almost fell for that).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2007, 01:52 PM
grantroberts's Avatar
grantroberts grantroberts is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: 2002 Prostar 209, tower, Predator
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 19
No static, just NOT clear or crisp. Sounds real mid-rangey. Not full - compared to a CD (which sounds great on my system). And, yeah, its the stereo plug....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2010, 12:34 PM
DBrown2 DBrown2 is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Boat: 2005 MC X Star, PP
Location: Southeast
Posts: 548
Bumping This up... XMD1 is my unit just wondering if I should waiste my time or just get a new Head unit..

Since this is 3 years old, what is everyone doing now or has there been a plug and play cord built?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 AM.


2018