Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Restorations and Refurbishments

Old 06-17-2018, 08:12 AM
TT Regular

Boat: '87 PS 190
Oh Boy!?! '87 PS190 Refurb

Oh Boy!?! What have I done now?? Sooooo, I bought this boat... My 12 year old son and I have been skiing for a few years, always behind someone else's boat or for a show ski team. Well, he has progressed to the point that he just needs more water time than we can scrounge from other people, soooo....I bought this boat. LOL. I'm pretty sure in my neck of the woods that this is the equivalent of saying, "Hey y'all, watch this"! Who knows how this is gonna end up!? Anyway, it's an '87 PS190 with the powerslot option. Overall it was in pretty good shape when I bought it, or so I thought, so I took a chance on it. I have extensive experience in the automotive world, so I figured that a boat couldn't be too hard, right? It had apparently sat on a lift on a private lake for all of it's life, but had sat for the last few years without being run. There was water trapped in the bilge at some point and it caused some pretty severe corrosion issues to the exterior of everything aft of the engine oil pan. I bought her from an auction, so I don't know any of it's history and I'm going on the assumption that everything is broken. So far, as I take it apart, everything that has not been broken has been a nice little surprise! I just figured it was better to think the worst and be pleased when it's not than to think it worked and be bummed when it doesn't.
Sooo...about the boat. So far, all I've done is disassemble it and I rebuilt the trans. I think the easiest way to start is to list the good things I know and then list the bad things I know, so here goes...
Good:
Engine turns free.
The trans is rebuilt.
The interior is in really nice shape.
All the original equipment is there, except the driver's seat has been replaced.

Not so good:
Fuel system, at least the carb.
All hoses
All ducts