Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Restorations and Refurbishments

Old 02-12-2017, 09:50 PM
TT Newbie

Boat: 1979 Mastercraft Stars and Stripes
Question 1979 Stars and Stripes engine work

My '79 Stars and Stripes ran pretty good last season until the last time out. While footing under full throttle I lost power, and developed what sounds like a top end knock, definitely not a rod knock though. The motor hasn't been touched since '88, so I'm thinking about pulling it and tearing the top end down for a good going-through. Before I get into it, I'm just wondering where I can find internal parts for the motor, I've looked around online without much luck. The motor is the original 351w with a beefy cam put in in '88. I'm relatively new to the boating world, so any parts-sources or other tips would be appreciated!
Old 02-15-2017, 08:19 AM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 1989 Mastercraft Tri Star 190 - Sold
Most parts can be purchased at the auto parts store. I also purchase marine grade components from this company. http://www.skidim.com/
Old 02-15-2017, 12:59 PM

Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stars_and_Stripes_footer View Post
My '79 Stars and Stripes ran pretty good last season until the last time out. While footing under full throttle I lost power, and developed what sounds like a top end knock, definitely not a rod knock though. The motor hasn't been touched since '88, so I'm thinking about pulling it and tearing the top end down for a good going-through. Before I get into it, I'm just wondering where I can find internal parts for the motor, I've looked around online without much luck. The motor is the original 351w with a beefy cam put in in '88. I'm relatively new to the boating world, so any parts-sources or other tips would be appreciated!
look in the library which is in the general discussion thread - many resources there.