Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > General Discussion

Old 12-05-2016, 12:20 AM
TT Regular

Boat: Mc
Budget wakeboarding boat

First post here. Been viewing the forums
For almost 5 years now. I have gained a fair amount of mastercraft knowledge here. I hope I can get some input from someone else's experience . Coming from an I/o(sold due Out growing the wake) I have my eyes set on a 97-98 mastercraft 205 locally. Will I be dissatisfied with this boat if used mainly for wakeboarding ? And also the maintenance on my previous ski boat was a pain. Direct drives seems a lot more
Simpler compared to an I/o imo... Any input would be appreciated. Thanks for reading .
Old 12-05-2016, 07:12 AM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2007 X45 496 crusader
I believe everyone on this forum will agree you will never be disappointed moving from an i/o to a dirct drive or a v drive. You also get the added bonus of being able to surf behind it too. That being said, i cannot speak directly on the 205 since i have never owned one. However with the ballast options now, and the fact that the weight doesnt all need to be at the rear, as long as the interior layout fits your needs I think you would be well satisfied. Disclaimer: the previous statement made is all depending on the price of the boat!!
Old 12-05-2016, 07:32 AM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2000 PS 205
I recently purchased an old PS 205 but I can't personally speak to wakeboarding behind because I'm just a driver and my girls are not good enough yet to be discerning.

If you decide to go with a 205 I would expand your search to 96 and newer. They all have the same hull after 96 and there isn't a price difference based upon year (all based on condition). The later years have the advantage of a little extra storage in the rear.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
Old 12-05-2016, 09:17 AM
TT Enthusiast

Boat: 2004 Malibu 23 LSV, 1990 Prostar 190
What's your budget? If you mainly wakeboard I'd be looking for a v drive.