Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-01-2017, 04:27 PM
Table Rocker's Avatar
Table Rocker Table Rocker is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: '96 ProStar 205, Sammy Duvall, LT-1
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 2,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsmetibbs View Post
Mine is the single terminal variety.
You might have three, one for the ECM, one for the gauge, and one that is a switch.
__________________
'96 ProStar 205 SD LT-1
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-01-2017, 09:47 PM
itsmetibbs itsmetibbs is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Boat: 1995 Mastercraft Prostar
Location: Intermountain West
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Table Rocker View Post
You might have three, one for the ECM, one for the gauge, and one that is a switch.
I found the sensor, and the sender. Those are near the Thermostat. Where is the switch at?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-01-2017, 11:29 PM
Table Rocker's Avatar
Table Rocker Table Rocker is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: '96 ProStar 205, Sammy Duvall, LT-1
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 2,418
On my engine (as I recall) it is on the starboard side in the head.
__________________
'96 ProStar 205 SD LT-1
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-03-2017, 11:10 PM
itsmetibbs itsmetibbs is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Boat: 1995 Mastercraft Prostar
Location: Intermountain West
Posts: 12
my local marine shop had the ECT Sender Unit, and I replaced it. Like I mentioned before, it's the single terminal variety located on the starboard side of the engine. It looks like this: https://mcpartsdepot.com/products/se...1-2-npt-thread

It doesn't appear to have made any difference in how the engine runs. How do I put the engine in service mode to make sure the ECM recognizes the new part. Do I even need to do this?

Any additional thoughts would be helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-03-2017, 11:38 PM
bret's Avatar
bret bret is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Boat: Prostar 190, 1993, Anniversary Limited.
Location: Heber Springs, AR
Posts: 1,189
http://www.rinda.com/marine/marine.htm

Code Mate is like $69 and up to MEFI 4, great tool. I have had mine so long I don't remember when I even got it
__________________
1993 25th Anniversary Limited ProStar 190, #17
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-04-2017, 09:47 AM
mikeg205's Avatar
mikeg205 mikeg205 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Location: Plainfield - Joliet, IL
Posts: 17,230
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsmetibbs View Post
my local marine shop had the ECT Sender Unit, and I replaced it. Like I mentioned before, it's the single terminal variety located on the starboard side of the engine. It looks like this: https://mcpartsdepot.com/products/se...1-2-npt-thread

It doesn't appear to have made any difference in how the engine runs. How do I put the engine in service mode to make sure the ECM recognizes the new part. Do I even need to do this?

Any additional thoughts would be helpful.
that's not it... 2 wire near rear of engine starboard side...

if it was the exhaust leak the spray from injectors would be the same -

have a video of it not starting with injectors?

get those exhaust gaskets replaced -
Attached Images
 
__________________
...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-06-2017, 01:00 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsmetibbs View Post
my local marine shop had the ECT Sender Unit, and I replaced it. Like I mentioned before, it's the single terminal variety located on the starboard side of the engine. It looks like this: https://mcpartsdepot.com/products/se...1-2-npt-thread

It doesn't appear to have made any difference in how the engine runs. How do I put the engine in service mode to make sure the ECM recognizes the new part. Do I even need to do this?

Any additional thoughts would be helpful.
The ECT sensor is located under the #8 spark plug.

Here is the one I replaced last year:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-06-2017, 01:01 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 521
MAP testing:
http://troubleshootmyvehicle.com/gm/...e-map-sensor-1
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-06-2017, 01:04 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 521
Here is a link to MEFI 2 service manual:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9...G1tb19vRU1IRVU

Not sure if you have MEFI 1 or 2, there are wiring differences.
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-22-2017, 12:12 PM
itsmetibbs itsmetibbs is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Boat: 1995 Mastercraft Prostar
Location: Intermountain West
Posts: 12
Quick update:

As I previously mentioned, the previous owner replaced the block. It appears that as he was doing so, he rerouted the wiring incorrectly. He routed the knock sensor wire and the ECT Sensor wire to the wrong side of the engine. My block did not have the ECT on the starboard side, but it has a plug in a place where I can install an ECT. I'm going to remove the plug and install an ECT. and I'm routing the wires into the correct position.

I was also getting a MAP code. I located a leak in the vacuum line leading to the MAP. Replacing the line should clear that up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.


2018