Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Restorations and Refurbishments

Old 05-25-2017, 10:44 PM
TT Regular

Boat: 1986 Mastercraft Skier P-S 351w
I have a Mastercraft Skier P-S it is grey with blue rainbow stripes graphics that are supposedly unique to 1986, The boat title does however say 1985, and the original mastercraft trailer says 1986. If I had to guess it was manufactured late 1985 but is the 1986 design, The engine says PCM and is stamped PLD WR L15

I bought it from a guy that had it sitting in his drive way for the last 5 years covered under a tarp (last registered 2012), some of that time the tarps must have been bad, because the bilge was full of water, and the drain plug still installed.

stamps on the prop show: 14, 18, 1 1/8, its 3 blade, hull has a dish indent above the prop.

because it has sat for so long I want to do any maintenance it might need before even trying to turn it over or touch the starter.
The engine hours on the dash show 1,130. I checked the oil on the dipstick, it looks just slightly used and still very clean, no moisture.

on car engines that have sat a very long time I would usually remove all the spark plugs and put a cap full of ATF down the cylinders and let that soak the rings for a day or two, and then after a couple days add a cap of clean oil and try turning the engine by hand with the spark plugs out, then if motor appears to be free and spinning easy do a compression check.

planned work (Please correct me if you have a better suggestion/brand on any of these)

First make sure engine still turns over and check compression.
remove and drain fuel tank completely, add 5 gallons fresh Ethanol Free Gas.

I plan to use some seafoam, but I think I should ease it out of retirement first before doing that right?

new impeller R061015 (pleasurecraft)
new plugs, wires, cap, rotor (what plugs, and what brand wires/cap/rotor?)
new Interstate Marine battery