Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Old 08-12-2018, 10:43 AM
TT Newbie

Boat: MasterCraft PS 190 5.7 98 SN GT40
95 prostar 190 wont restart sometimes.

Hello all,
I am new to Team Talk but not to ski boats. I have owned a 2001 SN for 16 years, and Have been skiing behind my cousins 95 MC 190 for about 10 years. He has had an issue with the boat not restarting at times when hot. Seems to be OK most ti9mes if we leave the blower motor running all the time.
The engine cranks over fine but will not fire. There is no fuel coming out of the injectors in the Throttle body. The last time this happened when I was with the boat we thought it was a loose connection at the fuel pump. We were looking at that connection trying to diagnose the problem and it started working.
Last week it happened again. Didn't have any tools but checked the following. Fuse for the fuel pump is good. Fuel relay is clicking but do not here the fuel pump running. Fuel pump is very hot. tried cooling it off with ice cubes but still no pumping of fuel. Loosened fuel line at TB and no fuel pressure at all. No meter to check voltage at the pump. Sprayed fuel into TB and the engine fires, so we have spark.
Put the boat on the lift and two days later it starts and runs like a dream without touching a thing. Verified fuse, relay, and voltage is getting to the pump now that it runs. I assume it was when not running also unless the relay was hot and causing the issue.
My question is do these pumps just quit when they get to hot if they are going bad? Or could this be vapor lock preventing fuel from getting to the pump?? He only runs non Ox 91 octane in the boat, so no ethanol.
I have done a couple of days worth of reading posts about fuel pump issues. What is the best solution for replacing this pump that has the two fittings at the bottom and one at the top that is obsolete.