Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2013, 04:13 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 323
Impeller / water line

Quick question:

Can I change an impeller out while boat is floating in water? It seems like the crank driven pump is below the water line?

I'd just like to know this info in the event I ever have an impeller fail.
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2013, 04:20 PM
OHIOPRO205's Avatar
OHIOPRO205 OHIOPRO205 is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Boat: 1994 PROSTAR 205
Location: Amanda, Ohio
Posts: 248
Great question. I was wondering the same thing today. Looking forward to hearing from some of the experts on here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2013, 04:20 PM
CruisinGA's Avatar
CruisinGA CruisinGA is online now
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Boat: '01 X9 330HP
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,486
Works fine in my '01 X9. If I was in rough water it splashed up through the hose a little.
__________________
Bailey
'02 X-9
Lake Blue Ridge
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2013, 04:50 PM
Jibber's Avatar
Jibber Jibber is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2012 Ilmor 6.0
Location: Germany
Posts: 67
Nope! Ive changed mine this summer and had to close the shut-off valve.
2012 X2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2013, 05:12 PM
jschildm jschildm is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Boat: 1998 ProStar 205
Location: Midwest
Posts: 241
1998 Prostar 205 and I have changed mine on the water before. Also pulled the front cover off more than once to check its condition.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2013, 09:06 AM
bochnak bochnak is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 323
Thanks for the replies.
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2013, 09:56 AM
mikeg205's Avatar
mikeg205 mikeg205 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Location: Plainfield - Joliet, IL
Posts: 11,213
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
Depends how high the hose runs from hull connection to trans cooler. if the loop extends higher than pump you should be okay.
Good question. Hopefully an annual replacement will never cause you to have to inspect while on water.
__________________
...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2013, 09:58 AM
bochnak bochnak is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeg205 View Post
my 95 205 will flood if I pull impeller.
That what I was worried about. Thanks for the info. I guess all you have to do is crack the screw on housing cover and you'll find out pretty fast!
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2013, 11:01 AM
markmcfarland's Avatar
markmcfarland markmcfarland is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Boat: 2009 X-Star 2003 X2 (SOLD)
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 346
2003 x2 with rtp was no problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 AM.