Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Storage / Winterization

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:32 PM
prostar205er prostar205er is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Boat: ProStar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 68
So that is the thermostat...the triangular shape box on top where all of the hoses converge? Good to know. So some of you out there open that up and pour your antifreeze in there?

I have a fake lake that I use to suck up the antifreeze. I don't always run the engine with water first to heat it up though (in part, so I don't scald my hands when I'm draining everything). When I'm sucking antifreeze into the engine I usually see my temp get up into the 200s. Is that sufficient enough to get the engine to open up to the antifreeze? Just curious as I've been doing this for years and have never had an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bochnak View Post


My motor is an Indmar, not sure what yours is? Your boat is probably carbed and does not have a knock sensor like mine.

Thermostat is on top and personally would not remove it. Drain all water and let the impeller suck the RV through the motor.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:37 PM
CruisinGA's Avatar
CruisinGA CruisinGA is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Boat: '01 X9 330HP
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by bochnak View Post
Where are you getting it for $2? Triangle shape with 2 holes?
No I pull the two large bolts, entire thermostat housing. Regular chevy vortec thermostat gasket

Skidim has it for $2.95.
http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=RM0121
__________________
Bailey
'02 X-9
Lake Blue Ridge
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:45 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by prostar205er View Post
So that is the thermostat...the triangular shape box on top where all of the hoses converge? Good to know. So some of you out there open that up and pour your antifreeze in there?

I have a fake lake that I use to suck up the antifreeze. I don't always run the engine with water first to heat it up though (in part, so I don't scald my hands when I'm draining everything). When I'm sucking antifreeze into the engine I usually see my temp get up into the 200s. Is that sufficient enough to get the engine to open up to the antifreeze? Just curious as I've been doing this for years and have never had an issue.
I did it with cold engine and RV distributed throughout. If you look at the t-stat setup, there is a 5/8" bypass hole.
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:50 PM
prostar205er prostar205er is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Boat: ProStar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by bochnak View Post
I did it with cold engine and RV distributed throughout. If you look at the t-stat setup, there is a 5/8" bypass hole.
Where is that (t-stat setup)? I've been doing my own maintenance for years and have never opened the t-stat. Would I see this if I opened up the triangle where the four hoses converge?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:56 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by prostar205er View Post
Where is that (t-stat setup)? I've been doing my own maintenance for years and have never opened the t-stat. Would I see this if I opened up the triangle where the four hoses converge?

http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=98-5006

On mine it is the smaller hole in this gasket.
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:57 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruisinGA View Post
No I pull the two large bolts, entire thermostat housing. Regular chevy vortec thermostat gasket

Skidim has it for $2.95.
http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=RM0121
This is the one I need:
http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=98-5006

I thought I paid more for some reason.
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:58 PM
prostar205er prostar205er is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Boat: ProStar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by bochnak View Post
http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=98-5006

On mine it is the smaller hole in this gasket.
Thanks! Is there ever a reason to need to open that housing (other than for your winterization process of course)? Just curious if there is anything I've been neglecting...

Last edited by prostar205er; 10-24-2013 at 02:58 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-24-2013, 03:09 PM
CruisinGA's Avatar
CruisinGA CruisinGA is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Boat: '01 X9 330HP
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by bochnak View Post
This is the one I need:
http://www.skidim.com/prodinfo.asp?number=98-5006

I thought I paid more for some reason.
You are splitting the tstat housing. If you remove the entire tstat housing you use the gasket I posted.
__________________
Bailey
'02 X-9
Lake Blue Ridge
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-24-2013, 03:31 PM
blackhawk's Avatar
blackhawk blackhawk is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Boat: 2006 X15 350 MCX
Location: Virginia
Posts: 430
I don't understand the need to remove the thermostat housing. If you just take off the large hose from the engine water pump, you can pour your antifreeze in that way. The AF will flow backwards through the water pump and then fill up the engine. On my MCX, after about 2.75 gallons, the AF starts coming out of the thermostat housing where I removed the large hose. You just have to hold the end of the large hose higher than the thermostat housing.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-24-2013, 03:40 PM
bochnak bochnak is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Boat: 94' Prostar 205 - Indmar 5.7 TBI
Location: Mount Prospect,IL
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruisinGA View Post
You are splitting the tstat housing. If you remove the entire tstat housing you use the gasket I posted.
Oh, OK. I had to replace the t-stat & gasket. Didn't know there was another below that.
__________________
-Matt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 AM.