Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Towers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-13-2013, 05:45 PM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,705
Considering the amount of load that is put on a tower I would never consider using it while it is bent. Likewise, I wouldn't consider bending it back and using it. The idea of a tower failure is too catastrophic in nature even think about doing so.

I would suggest just replacing that upper bar at the first point it bolts on.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-13-2013, 05:58 PM
soacj's Avatar
soacj soacj is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: Current: '03 X2 w/ MCX. Former: '91 Prostar
Location: Virginia
Posts: 531
Nothing really to add, but to mention that I feel your pain on this mishap...

Saturday AM I was putting the boat back on the lift, got distracted, and raised the tower into the lift pulley bar. In my case, I was fortunate that the lightbar on top of the tower was the only casualty, not counting the 10 years I took off my life in terms of heart damage when I heard the "crunch"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-14-2013, 12:17 PM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,705
Looks like it has everything you need to change out the top bar. I would consider this a great price if the 07 and 09 towers are the same. They look the same to me.

http://greatlakesskipper.com/en_us/m...ard-tower-kit#
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-15-2013, 09:43 AM
Ripple's Avatar
Ripple Ripple is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Boat: 2014 X10 5.7 Ilmor
Location: Southeast
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by CantRepeat View Post
Considering the amount of load that is put on a tower I would never consider using it while it is bent. Likewise, I wouldn't consider bending it back and using it. The idea of a tower failure is too catastrophic in nature even think about doing so.

I would suggest just replacing that upper bar at the first point it bolts on.
My local dealer is looking into replacement options. I am beyond frustrated by this accident. It never should have happened. We now have a auto shut off feature on the lift...day late and a dollar short on that one. At least this will never happen again.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-15-2013, 10:04 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 8,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripple View Post
My local dealer is looking into replacement options. I am beyond frustrated by this accident. It never should have happened. We now have a auto shut off feature on the lift...day late and a dollar short on that one. At least this will never happen again.
I'm not sure what the dealer is asking for a replacement, but did you check out that link I posted?
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-15-2013, 10:16 AM
pmikler's Avatar
pmikler pmikler is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Boat: 2006 x30
Location: Southeast
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripple View Post
My local dealer is looking into replacement options. I am beyond frustrated by this accident. It never should have happened. We now have a auto shut off feature on the lift...day late and a dollar short on that one. At least this will never happen again.
First of sorry that happened to you.

Boat dock and lift just got finished yesterday and i have the same type of lift as you. If you don't mind me asking what and where did you get the auto shut off? I think ill learn from you and add that option
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-16-2013, 08:32 AM
Ripple's Avatar
Ripple Ripple is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Boat: 2014 X10 5.7 Ilmor
Location: Southeast
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmikler View Post
First of sorry that happened to you.

Boat dock and lift just got finished yesterday and i have the same type of lift as you. If you don't mind me asking what and where did you get the auto shut off? I think ill learn from you and add that option
The company that installed your lift will add the option. You have two choices - one is passive and set, meaning that you set the height and do not change it. The second optionis more expensive and have a remote option that allows you to change the height limit. We opted for the second version as the lift will need to go higher in the winter when the tower is down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 PM.