Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Ballast

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2013, 08:10 AM
Stefan's Avatar
Stefan Stefan is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Boat: 2014 X-46 6.0L Gen2+
Location: Middle of Germany :D
Posts: 877
2012 piggy back ballast timers programming

As most of you 2012 owners know, changing of the ballast timers for piggy backing was not possible until now.
After about eight weeks working with MC, programming last week and a affirmative lake test last weekend I can tell you it's working now. I have two 1100lbs bags in rear and two 400lbs bags piggy backed in front(center) in my2012 X-15 and filling and emptying them with the original ballast pumps works just great.
The process basically consists of installing the needed software, connecting to the Master lenco module, updating it's firmware and changing it's ballast pump values afterwards.

So to use the MC marketing speak "Go down to your dealer and get some"!
Please keep in mind the needed Hardware (MC part# 500766 and 500767) are in somewhat of a short supply I guess...
I was thinking of doing a write up of the whole process, but unless you're willing to spend $500+ on the programming hardware yourself for basicly just one programming it's no use, your dealer should be able to get everything needed from MC.
__________________
If You Find To Many Capitals You Can Keep Them...I'm German

It's always 5pm somewhere, time for a beer!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2013, 09:45 PM
KahunaCraft's Avatar
KahunaCraft KahunaCraft is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Boat: 2012 X30, 6L
Location: Canada
Posts: 442
What were the pulse values you used?

Thanks again Stefan!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2013, 01:38 AM
Stefan's Avatar
Stefan Stefan is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Boat: 2014 X-46 6.0L Gen2+
Location: Middle of Germany :D
Posts: 877
These were the original pulse counts, 130.000 on starbord/port and 65.000 on center.



As of now I'm using 290.000 on starboard/port (1100lbs that fit but dont fully expand) and 200.000 on center (for 2x400lbs that fit but don't fully expand). If you have a BIG and a thumbdrive you can edit your ballast to the single percent afterwards (95% in my case).
__________________
If You Find To Many Capitals You Can Keep Them...I'm German

It's always 5pm somewhere, time for a beer!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2014, 02:17 PM
lentiman's Avatar
lentiman lentiman is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: 2012 MasterCraft X2
Location: NorCal
Posts: 267
Hi Stefan, I don't have the touchscreen but do have everything else on my X2 (attitude plate, surf tabs). I'll call MC tomorrow and try to get my dealer too, but they're at our local boat show this week. I wonder if this would work for an X2. I don't think it would be that difficult to figure out how much to reduce the fill pulses as opposed to using the touch screen to reduce the total fill by % amounts. If this can work without the touchscreen and my dealer will do it then I'll be pretty happy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2017, 04:15 PM
jgaither jgaither is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2012 X-15
Location: southwest
Posts: 6
Lentiman,

Did you ever get this working on your X2? the dealer is telling me that MC part# 500766 and 500767 don't exist and that I need to add separate pumps for the bags.

I'll spend the $500 for the programmers if I can get them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2017, 06:29 PM
lentiman's Avatar
lentiman lentiman is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: 2012 MasterCraft X2
Location: NorCal
Posts: 267
Nope. This only works if you have a specific setup. I only had the v-dig/g-dig and switches so Stefan's solution would not work for me. I think Stefan has the B.I.G. I had to go the extra switches, new pumps, and separate plumbing route. I made a thread about my ballast install. Shoot me an email if you have the same setup as me and have questions. But basically I added a new thru-hull, swapped around all the hoses, added a set of relays and switches and 3 new pumps for new rear locker and bow bags. The setup works quite well. 2012 was the worst year for MC but my boat is tuned nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2017, 08:39 AM
jgaither jgaither is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2012 X-15
Location: southwest
Posts: 6
what is a BIG. vs. the v-dig/g-dig?



Quote:
Originally Posted by lentiman View Post
Nope. This only works if you have a specific setup. I only had the v-dig/g-dig and switches so Stefan's solution would not work for me. I think Stefan has the B.I.G. I had to go the extra switches, new pumps, and separate plumbing route. I made a thread about my ballast install. Shoot me an email if you have the same setup as me and have questions. But basically I added a new thru-hull, swapped around all the hoses, added a set of relays and switches and 3 new pumps for new rear locker and bow bags. The setup works quite well. 2012 was the worst year for MC but my boat is tuned nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2017, 12:15 PM
lentiman's Avatar
lentiman lentiman is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: 2012 MasterCraft X2
Location: NorCal
Posts: 267
Which type of gauges n' stuff do you have?

BIG: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=...93309577437275

g-dig: https://www.google.com/search?q=mast...PZmrzceTuSKoM:

or this: https://theskimonster.com/files/thes...ouchscreen.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2017, 12:55 PM
jgaither jgaither is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 2012 X-15
Location: southwest
Posts: 6
So, I don't have a large screen between speedo and tach. But I do have a touchscreen on right side of the cluster. But it is different than with no buttons on sides. https://theskimonster.com/files/thes...ouchscreen.jpg

The small LCD in speedo says I hav GDIG v1.03

So you think I won't be able to change the timers?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2017, 01:55 PM
lentiman's Avatar
lentiman lentiman is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: 2012 MasterCraft X2
Location: NorCal
Posts: 267
If you have the touchscreen you have the ability to change timers I believe.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:07 PM.