Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2013, 10:12 PM
pap pap is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 190
Tower Camera options (new x30)

I was disappointed they did away with the rather slick looking integrated swivel camera in the tower pull point.

The x30 we ordered has a video in, but it's not integrated into the tower at all.

We would like to have a hassle free way of recording riders that doesn't involve anyone holding a camera. Our current boat has a swivel mount for a camcorder, but it's somewhat ungainly.

Any suggestions or better yet pictures of a current install?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2013, 03:06 AM
Aric'sX15's Avatar
Aric'sX15 Aric'sX15 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Boat: 85' S&S
Location: DFDUB
Posts: 4,927
Have you looked into go pros?
__________________
"if one day the speed kills me, do not cry because i was smiling." -Paul Walker
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2013, 07:15 AM
KahunaCraft's Avatar
KahunaCraft KahunaCraft is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Boat: 2012 X30, 6L
Location: Canada
Posts: 439
http://www.Wakeye.com

Seems like a nice option.

You could use a camera that has wifi streaming to other devices in boat connected to the video inputs. Then use a remote control (app or other device) to avoid running wires. I'm trying to sort out the same problem this week.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2013, 09:25 AM
pap pap is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 190
Gopros as far as I understand have way too wide a FOV for tower mounting. In addition, I found the standing up/reaching up to turn it off and on all the time on our old camera annoying. Was just hoping someone had a way to get both video and control down to the helm area, since MC has a built in video input but now way to get video down to the plug, it kinda makes no sense.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2013, 09:35 AM
clrussell's Avatar
clrussell clrussell is online now
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Boat: 1990 mastercraft p190
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,104
http://www.mastercraftbydesign.com/index_509.asp

I was just playing on their site and found this. I can't get any more info to load but maybe it'll work on a computer


Tapatalk
__________________
1990 prostar 190, 351, powerslot 1.5:1, tinted windows
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2013, 12:31 PM
pap pap is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 190
I don't think that option is available any longer. I'm wondering if the software is still built into the MC system and whether it can connect to any camera out there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2013, 06:35 PM
GoinBoatin's Avatar
GoinBoatin GoinBoatin is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Boat: 2006 x-45 8.1L
Location: Iowa
Posts: 275
The new go pros have a wireless remote to turn it on and off I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2013, 06:01 AM
Stefan's Avatar
Stefan Stefan is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Boat: 2014 X-46 6.0L BSO-II Gen2+
Location: middle of Germany, center of Europe
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoinBoatin View Post
The new go pros have a wireless remote to turn it on and off I believe.
Yeah they do, either via wireless remote or iphone app, including preview.

But the Field of view of GoPros is useless as tower cam, its so wide angle, it doesent even need to be connected to the towrope to be turned, meaning the rider won't be more then a small spot
__________________
If You Find To Many Capitals You Can Keep Them...I'm German
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2013, 10:22 AM
pap pap is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 190
I was reading the latest generation have a "zoom" of sorts - wide/medium/zoom, but haven't been able to see examples of this on a tower.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2013, 05:37 PM
GoneBoatN's Avatar
GoneBoatN GoneBoatN is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: 2010 X-15 w/MCX
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by pap View Post
I don't think that option is available any longer. I'm wondering if the software is still built into the MC system and whether it can connect to any camera out there.
On my 2010 with BIG, the Medallion Viper module has a couple composite video input connectors. One of those runs to the glove box via a cable. I hooked up a GoPro to it and it works just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 PM.