Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #211  
Old 09-10-2011, 09:58 AM
Lumbergh's Avatar
Lumbergh Lumbergh is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1991 ProStar 190
Location: Seattle
Posts: 736
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 09-14-2011, 02:21 AM
Scottman's Avatar
Scottman Scottman is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Boat: 78 S & S
Location: nky
Posts: 46
After a lot of research I couldn't be happier with my Blue Sea "Add A Battery" System.

Thanks to reading this thread for the suggestion...haven't had a single battery related problem since I installed it this spring.

I have one cranking battery and one deep cycle. I just turn the switch to ON when I start and OFF when I put her away at night. Then there's COMBINE if I ever needed it.

Easy installation too...any questions about it just let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 01-09-2012, 09:10 PM
Scottman's Avatar
Scottman Scottman is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Boat: 78 S & S
Location: nky
Posts: 46
Also wanted to say that I got a great deal on my cables at http://genuinedealz.com/

I ordered everything and had them make the cables for me. They all arrived exactly as I ordered, and I just had to hook them up. Great prices, and they made them just how I wanted them. Really couldn't be happier. I first heard of them through a post on this site, so thanks to whoever posted the link (I think it was sodar)
Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 01-21-2012, 08:33 PM
Lumbergh's Avatar
Lumbergh Lumbergh is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1991 ProStar 190
Location: Seattle
Posts: 736
What gauge are the factory battery cables on a Prostar?
__________________
1991 ProStar / 351W with 1:1 Velvet Drive
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 01-21-2012, 09:06 PM
waterlogged882 waterlogged882 is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Boat: wooden, boat, 1908, putt
Location: lake
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumbergh View Post
What gauge are the factory battery cables on a Prostar?
Four for most. Stands true for the 93 for certain.
Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 05-28-2012, 08:53 AM
Philscbx's Avatar
Philscbx Philscbx is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Boat: 78 S&S, 04 Pro 209
Location: Mn, Minnetonka
Posts: 276
Wow, I read up to Pg 5, and at that point I was looking at the BW R3098 relay making up dual battery set-up.

The specs don't indicate it's a latching relay. I suspect it's general purpose starting relay.
Wouldn't latching be preferred? Vs a constant draw/drain on the Batteries.

Current research - Amazon $63 - advanceautoparts - $43



Other - SD SERIES 7800

Last edited by Philscbx; 05-28-2012 at 12:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:56 AM
bturner2's Avatar
bturner2 bturner2 is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Boat: Maristar 200VRS w/ X2 Package, 2007, 310HP
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 2,267
Don't know the answer to your question but I can tell you I'm on my fourth season with the Blue Seas "add a battery set up" with no issues. Easy install, all parts tested/included, no questions needed or answers required. Best of all it works.
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 05-29-2012, 09:21 AM
Sodar's Avatar
Sodar Sodar is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Boat: '07 ProStar 197 w/ MCX
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 10,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by bturner2 View Post
Don't know the answer to your question but I can tell you I'm on my fourth season with the Blue Seas "add a battery set up" with no issues. Easy install, all parts tested/included, no questions needed or answers required. Best of all it works.
X2.... Works great!
__________________
-Cameron
2007 ProStar 197
1996 ProStar 190
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 02-05-2013, 09:32 PM
51timber's Avatar
51timber 51timber is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Boat: 2003 X30
Location: Cape Cod Mass
Posts: 88
Quick question on fuse sizes??? What size circuit breakers are most running from the islator to the battery for both the starter side and the house battery side??? Also if I go from a 70 amp alternator is it really necessary to change all of the associated wiring??? I have seen through this thread so many different opinions my head is spinning. What is the consensus?
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 02-06-2013, 11:46 AM
GoneBoatN's Avatar
GoneBoatN GoneBoatN is online now
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: 2010 X-15 w/MCX
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by 51timber View Post
Quick question on fuse sizes??? What size circuit breakers are most running from the islator to the battery for both the starter side and the house battery side??? Also if I go from a 70 amp alternator is it really necessary to change all of the associated wiring??? I have seen through this thread so many different opinions my head is spinning. What is the consensus?
The Blue Seas Add-A-Battery installation guide has some guideance on wire sizes and fuse sizes. There is also a URL to a calculator in those instructions that should help with wiring sizes:

https://bluesea.com/files/resources/.../990310020.pdf
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amp, ballast, batteries, stereo, system

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 AM.