Go Back   TeamTalk > News & Information > Team Talk Forum Help- Forum Issues Only

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:52 PM
jude09 jude09 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Boat: prostar190
Location: midwest
Posts: 6
1994 Prostar sending unit

My feul gauge always reads 1/2 full. I assume it is the sending unit. Do I need to revome the fuel tank to replace the sending unit. It doesn't seem to have enough head clearance to remove unit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:22 PM
mikeg205's Avatar
mikeg205 mikeg205 is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Location: Plainfield - Joliet, IL
Posts: 10,929
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
Yes you have to remove it...you can buy sending units directly from http://www.isspro.com/
__________________
...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:40 PM
Double D's Avatar
Double D Double D is online now
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Boat: 1994 Mastercraft, ProStar 205, 350 Indmar with 275 hp
Location: Massillon, Ohio
Posts: 4,197
Getting them dialed in is another thing....
__________________
If its not a competition ski boat, its always second best.

1994 MasterCraft ProStar 205
275 HP 350 Chevy Indmar
Monster Tower & PerfectPass

Check out the MasterCraft Buckeye Bash on Facebook!

"In my many years I have come to a conclusion that one useless man is a shame, two is a law firm and three or more is a congress." - John Adams
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2012, 01:04 PM
Jorski Jorski is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 1993 190 with LT1
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,184
Jude09,

If the problem were electrical, you would either read all the way empty or all of the way full all of the time.

I had this exact problem. The float that makes your unit work is in a tube. It has magnets on it that the electrical part of the sending unit reads and then send the information to your guage.

In my case, the foam ball, was sort of swollen from years of immersion. Likely yours is also. It could also be stuck due gum or varnish from the gas. The solution is to remove the unit, take the end cap off of the tube and pull out the foam ball.

Be careful, you don't want to knock the magnets off. I also shaved down the ball to make it move a little more freely inside of the tube.

This is worth a shot. You have to remove the old one anyhow, and it just might save you a couple of $$$$.

PS You can undo the clips at the bottom of the tank that hold it in place at the bottom. If you undo the breather vent hose at one end, you can pivot the other end of the tank around to get at the sending unit. This way you don't have to remove it completely.

Let us know how it turns out.

Last edited by Jorski; 11-22-2012 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2012, 01:43 PM
AZDave's Avatar
AZDave AZDave is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Boat: 1993 Stars & Stripes Prostar 190 351 285 hp
Location: sw
Posts: 241
I have gone 7 years with out it, but then I don't have my back seat in place so I can check it easily.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2012, 05:10 PM
ricford's Avatar
ricford ricford is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Boat: 1996 Prostar190
Location: Muskoka, Canada
Posts: 542
Fixed mine myself last year. I had to epoxy the magnets back into the foam float. I found some 2 part epoxy that was gas resistant at the local marina, but some guys have used super glue. Easy fix, there is a thread on it in the frequently asked questions section.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.