Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > Tow Vehicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-10-2014, 02:24 PM
Ski-me's Avatar
Ski-me Ski-me is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Boat: Mastercraft, Prostar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Rocky Mountains....Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeTravisBear View Post
ended up finding a 2004 8.1 4x4 2500 suburban with only 80k miles for $12K. It towes awesome and is so smooth to drive, I love it. Thanks for the help.
I have the same truck, year and engine. It's great and so much more fun to drive than the 6.0L! I'm just hitting 120k now and will keep it for the foreseeable future.

Let me know if you have any questions as I've done most of the work or just a PM if you wish:
Seat Heaters
Ball Joints
Shocks (auto ride... $$$$)
etc.

Also, pretty normal to use 1 qt of oil in 2500 miles so don't be surprised. Mine has done it since I've owned it at 18,000 miles.
__________________
- Jeff

1994 205, LT1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2014, 01:53 AM
LakeTravisBear LakeTravisBear is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Boat: X 80
Location: Southwest
Posts: 28
Ill post some pics tomorrow. I am sure I will have questions since I am already trying to add stuff to it. I love the auto ride suspension but want to lift it a little. something 4in or lower. Any recs on a suspension lift that will not mess up the auto ride?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:07 AM
Ski-me's Avatar
Ski-me Ski-me is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Boat: Mastercraft, Prostar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Rocky Mountains....Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,457
You might be able to get shock extensions but not positive. Mine just has an extra leaf in the back and then the fronts (I assumed) were cranked up just a bit. Enough to fit 305's in there.

If you lift it, you may lose Autoride with aftermarket shocks. I would recommend the Bilsteins 5100's or nicer. However, once Autoride shocks are removed, it sends a signal to the computer and you get a "service ride suspension" error light. Some have suggested using a diode of some sort to trick the computer that everything is OK but I don't know how effective this is.

The ABS and possibly another component are also tied to the autoride system. So, investigate before pulling the trigger.

I just changed my shocks at an Amazon bargin price of $200/shock! I so wanted to go to Bilsteins but didn't want to deal with a potential error code. Heck, I still got an error due to a faulty "new" shock. I have since replaced that one but required a dealer visit to determine which one was bad.

Anyways, food for thought.

Here's the only pic I could find of our truck on this computer.....
Attached Images
 
__________________
- Jeff

1994 205, LT1
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:10 AM
scott023's Avatar
scott023 scott023 is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Boat: 2008 X45 Switch L18
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ski-me View Post
You might be able to get shock extensions but not positive. Mine just has an extra leaf in the back and then the fronts (I assumed) were cranked up just a bit. Enough to fit 305's in there.

If you lift it, you may lose Autoride with aftermarket shocks. I would recommend the Bilsteins 5100's or nicer. However, once Autoride shocks are removed, it sends a signal to the computer and you get a "service ride suspension" error light. Some have suggested using a diode of some sort to trick the computer that everything is OK but I don't know how effective this is.

The ABS and possibly another component are also tied to the autoride system. So, investigate before pulling the trigger.

I just changed my shocks at an Amazon bargin price of $200/shock! I so wanted to go to Bilsteins but didn't want to deal with a potential error code. Heck, I still got an error due to a faulty "new" shock. I have since replaced that one but required a dealer visit to determine which one was bad.

Anyways, food for thought.

Here's the only pic I could find of our truck on this computer.....
Are those booster cables in the water??
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-12-2014, 10:01 AM
Ski-me's Avatar
Ski-me Ski-me is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Boat: Mastercraft, Prostar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Rocky Mountains....Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott023 View Post
Are those booster cables in the water??
yes, but weren't hooked up yet......
__________________
- Jeff

1994 205, LT1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-12-2014, 10:22 PM
Aric'sX15's Avatar
Aric'sX15 Aric'sX15 is offline
MC Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Boat: 85' S&S
Location: DFDUB
Posts: 4,719
Was a duramax ever an option in these trucks? I know of Duraburb, but a factory option would be sick!
__________________
"if one day the speed kills me, do not cry because i was smiling." -Paul Walker
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-12-2014, 10:27 PM
Ski-me's Avatar
Ski-me Ski-me is offline
MC Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Boat: Mastercraft, Prostar 205, 1994, LT1
Location: Rocky Mountains....Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,457
[quote=Aric'sX15;1022349]Was a duramax ever an option in these trucks? I know of Duraburb, but a factory option would be sick![/QUexpensive

No not offered unfortunately. I do know at least one outfit in Denver area was making them though. Pretty cool but also, pretty expensive!
__________________
- Jeff

1994 205, LT1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 PM.