Go Back   TeamTalk > General MasterCraft Topics > Watersports > Wakeboarding & Wakeskating

Old 03-10-2013, 09:31 AM
TT Regular

Boat: Mastercraft X2 2006
Which Wakeboard???

Anybody help? I have been wakeboarding for 10 years now and I have always had CWB Absolute boards. I wakeboard in the sea - usually in choppy water. I did have a Hyperlite Parks a few years ago but found it to be terrible unless the water was glass flat.
So ..... I fancy a new board but I live nowhere near any dealers so I can try boards. So I am stuck with buying off the web mail order. I am looking for something with a similar ride to my Absolute. Handles rough water - grippy edge - nice pop. I'm not an advanced rider - I'm 46 so I doubt I'll ever learn inverts. I just fancy a change. Any suggestions?
Old 03-10-2013, 09:53 AM
MC Devotee

Boat: Maristar 200VRS w/ X2 Package, 2007, 310HP
I like my Hyperlite Murray. Not sure if it's what you'd like though. It's a rather loose but forgiving board. Being loose and having shallow fins you have to use the rails to cut with. Rides a lot like an over-sized trick ski. I occasionally ride out in Lake Erie which even on calm days has it's share of rollers. It seems to do well for me on a mix of conditions.

I had a Ronix One that had tremendous pop but it liked to catch edges. You really had to be on with that board or take a rather nasty digger. At my current level of riding I'd much rather slide out of a situation than take a face plant.
Old 03-10-2013, 10:35 AM
TT Regular

That would be my problem with a loose board. Every time you hit choppy water the board bounces out making it a pain in the a**e! It has to be grippy and not too floaty.
Old 03-11-2013, 12:23 AM
MC Devotee

Boat: 2000 X-star
Quote:
Originally Posted by bturner2 View Post