Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Engine / Drive Train

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:21 PM
Snipe's Avatar
Snipe Snipe is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Boat: 1998 ProStar 190
Location: Three Lakes,WI/summer;Menomonee Falls,WI/winter
Posts: 744
Fuel Sending Unit

I have a 1998 Prostar 190 and the fuel gauge may have to be replaced. The boat is in storage now so I can't match the sender up. Are there different part numbers (different gauges) or are they all the same? I would like to get one ready so I don't have to go shopping in the spring and waste time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:28 PM
epnault's Avatar
epnault epnault is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Boat: MasterCraft ProStar 209X9 & ProStar 190 LT1-Powerslot
Location: Twin Cities and Northern WI Cabin
Posts: 646
They are all not the same. I would call the guys over at Midwest MasterCraft in Crystal, MN and they should be able to hook you up. Good idea to plan ahead. If you are handy, you may just need to recalibrate your empty and full settings on your sender. This depends on the symptoms of your gauge. Either way the guys at Midwest MC can walk you through the diagnosis.

http://www.waterskis.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:55 PM
ricford's Avatar
ricford ricford is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Boat: 1996 Prostar190
Location: Muskoka, Canada
Posts: 533
If it's the sending unit, you can fix it yourself pretty easily. There's a thread in the FAQ section about it. My 96 read full all the time, I followed the instructions, glued the magnets back in place and was done in about an hour and a half, including unbolting the tank and sliding it forward to get at it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2012, 10:06 AM
Snipe's Avatar
Snipe Snipe is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Boat: 1998 ProStar 190
Location: Three Lakes,WI/summer;Menomonee Falls,WI/winter
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricford View Post
If it's the sending unit, you can fix it yourself pretty easily. There's a thread in the FAQ section about it. My 96 read full all the time, I followed the instructions, glued the magnets back in place and was done in about an hour and a half, including unbolting the tank and sliding it forward to get at it.
I can't seem to locate this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:59 AM
mtajpa's Avatar
mtajpa mtajpa is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Boat: MC 1999 Maristar 230 sport
Location: Southwest
Posts: 761
Try this plenty of info just google MC sending unit magnet

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/...ad.php?t=38453
__________________
99 MariStar 230 Sport LTR 330
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2012, 10:16 PM
ricford's Avatar
ricford ricford is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Boat: 1996 Prostar190
Location: Muskoka, Canada
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snipe View Post
I can't seem to locate this thread.
I had trouble locating it again as well. Try this.

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/...ad.php?t=38453
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:56 PM
mikeg205's Avatar
mikeg205 mikeg205 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Boat: 1995 Pro Star 205 5.7 Liter
Location: Plainfield - Joliet, IL
Posts: 10,400
Send a message via Skype™ to mikeg205
and you can buy direct here...

http://www.isspro.com/
__________________
...A bad day water skiing still beats a good day at work...1995 Pro Star 205....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-08-2012, 08:13 AM
Snipe's Avatar
Snipe Snipe is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Boat: 1998 ProStar 190
Location: Three Lakes,WI/summer;Menomonee Falls,WI/winter
Posts: 744
I personally have not experienced the problem. I just bought the boat and will have to wait until next season to see exactly what the gauge says. The PO told me that he would fill it up and the gauge comes to half full. That makes me think possibly he used the 10% Ethanol and there may be some corrosion on the sender. My previous experience is with a sending unit in a Correctcraft that has a type of rheostat that can rust. I'm assuming that this is not the case with the units Matercraft uses. I will give the guys at Midwest Mastercraft a call.
Thanks for the replies.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-08-2012, 09:17 AM
JimN's Avatar
JimN JimN is offline
MC Master Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snipe View Post
I personally have not experienced the problem. I just bought the boat and will have to wait until next season to see exactly what the gauge says. The PO told me that he would fill it up and the gauge comes to half full. That makes me think possibly he used the 10% Ethanol and there may be some corrosion on the sender. My previous experience is with a sending unit in a Correctcraft that has a type of rheostat that can rust. I'm assuming that this is not the case with the units Matercraft uses. I will give the guys at Midwest Mastercraft a call.
Thanks for the replies.
Not usually corrosion on these senders- the magnets release from the float or the float foam can swell. Get access to the sender and turn the key on, then connect from the pink wire to the black. If the needle deflects to Full, your gauge is fine.

In this case, you can file a little off of the slots in the float that were binding and make sure it slides to the top without hanging up. I used a file that's just a little thicker than the board in the sender. If it lost one, or both magnets, you'll need to remove the sender, remove the round plate on the bottom and remove the float/magnet(s) that fell off. Position the magnet(s) in the float and turn the key ON, then slide the float from bottom to the top, making sure it reads correctly. You may need to reverse one of the magnets. Use Super Glue gel to keep it in place.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-08-2012, 09:20 AM
Snipe's Avatar
Snipe Snipe is offline
MC Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Boat: 1998 ProStar 190
Location: Three Lakes,WI/summer;Menomonee Falls,WI/winter
Posts: 744
Do you happen to know the height of the tank in my 98?
I have an access hole in the transom, I may be able to get that thing out without having to remove the tank.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.