Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Audio/Stereo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2012, 12:34 AM
LouX2 LouX2 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2012
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 2
USB behind drivers seat

I have a 2012 X2 and it has a USB port behind the drivers seat next to the 12 volt power outlet. I have plugged my iPhone into it and it does not charge it or show up as plugged into the head unit. If I plug my iPhone into the USB in the glove box it shows up and plays on the head unit. So my question: is the USB behind the drivers seat work the same way as the one in the glove box? Or is it wired differently? Maybe mine is broken.
Thank for your help.

Lou
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:52 AM
KahunaCraft's Avatar
KahunaCraft KahunaCraft is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Boat: 2012 X30, 6L
Location: Canada
Posts: 439
They are different from what I understand. The one behind the seat is just a charger. I suggest that you look at a few after market additions to control or add music devices...

Clarion Remotes (need a Y cable, 30$) I bought the waterproof wireless remote.
http://www.clarion.com/us/en/product...tes/index.html

Accessories
http://www.clarion.com/us/en/product...ies/index.html

Bluetooth audio
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...on-BLT370.html

http://www.kanexlive.com/airblue ( there are others like this )

GPS Bluetooth (requires Navionics iPhone app or other compatible map app)
http://bad-elf.com/products/be-gps-2200/ (there are others, I like this one)

eBay or Amazon have better prices than the sites above...make sure you buy the right accessory compatible with your head unit, likely the CMD6 Clarion.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2012, 12:53 PM
Jibber's Avatar
Jibber Jibber is offline
TT Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2012 Ilmor 6.0
Location: Germany
Posts: 67
I think the usb behind the drivers seat is only to communicate with the BIG-Display. You can upload riderstats or updates to the BIG over this port. I have only the gdig and i think mine is not connected to anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2012, 12:57 PM
LouX2 LouX2 is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Boat: Mastercraft X2 2012
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 2
Thank you for the fast reply. I was concerned about this USB. Anytime I feel something doesn't work on my boat it drives me crazy until it is fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2012, 11:09 PM
wbreaux wbreaux is offline
TT Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Boat: 2007 Mastercraft x2
Location: South
Posts: 13
This may not be 100% related but its similar so I thought I could ask it here. I have an 07 x2 with the factory stereo as far as the head unit goes. I probably went through 10 aux cords this summer and was wondering if there was a way to add a blue tooth plug in to the back of the stock head unit if there isn't one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2012, 11:15 PM
milkmania's Avatar
milkmania milkmania is offline
MC Platinum
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: White/Red 91 PS 190
Location: God's blindspot aka Oklahoma
Posts: 9,155
I've got a JVC stereo that has a USB port..... but the only thing it will read is thumbdrives or jumpdrives/folders.
I can plug iPhone into it, the head unit will not see it, or charge it

just something to think about.....
__________________
WE LIVE IN THE LAND OF THE FREE, BECAUSE OF THE BRAVE


Team MasterCraft Google Search Engine

Last edited by milkmania; 12-19-2012 at 11:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2012, 11:22 PM
milkmania's Avatar
milkmania milkmania is offline
MC Platinum
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Boat: White/Red 91 PS 190
Location: God's blindspot aka Oklahoma
Posts: 9,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbreaux View Post
This may not be 100% related but its similar so I thought I could ask it here. I have an 07 x2 with the factory stereo as far as the head unit goes. I probably went through 10 aux cords this summer and was wondering if there was a way to add a blue tooth plug in to the back of the stock head unit if there isn't one.
FWIW....
Radio Shack has insurance on their cables..... it's like $1.99 for 3 years, no questions asked.... just bring in the broken cable

I go through a lot, because my head unit is in an overhead console on a vehicle
__________________
WE LIVE IN THE LAND OF THE FREE, BECAUSE OF THE BRAVE


Team MasterCraft Google Search Engine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.