Go Back   TeamTalk > Maintenance Tips, How-tos and Refurbishing Topics > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2011, 04:52 PM
mcskier's Avatar
mcskier mcskier is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Boat: 2008 Prostar 197 TT, 350MCX, Powerslot #32/100
Location: Lake Sammamish, WA
Posts: 140
tower light install

My 2008 197 has a mini tower and I am not happy with any of the options that MC offers for tower lighting, both from a cost perspective as well as size. I am thinking of getting these lights: Lumitec-Exuma

My plan is to mount them directly to the four tower accessory caps. Behind each cap there appears to be a set of speaker wires (purple) as well as lighting wires (blue/black). My question is this: are these wires hot from the factory and if so, what switch are they connected to? hoping that this will be a simple plug and play project aside from drilling the caps. Anyone out there done this project or similar? Thanks!
__________________
2008 Prostar 197 TT #32/100
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2011, 10:16 PM
mcskier's Avatar
mcskier mcskier is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Boat: 2008 Prostar 197 TT, 350MCX, Powerslot #32/100
Location: Lake Sammamish, WA
Posts: 140
Can anyone tell me whether the wires in the tower are already connected to a switch at the breaker? I'm just wondering if i'm going to need to go fishin' for wires.
__________________
2008 Prostar 197 TT #32/100
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2011, 07:13 AM
BriEOD's Avatar
BriEOD BriEOD is offline
MC Platinum
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Boat: 2000 MasterCraft ProStar 205 DD
Location: Severn River, MD
Posts: 9,024
I can't answer your question. However, you do not want to wire tower lights directly to a switch. You'll burn up the switch. You need to use a relay.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2011, 07:32 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 7,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by BriEOD View Post
I can't answer your question. However, you do not want to wire tower lights directly to a switch. You'll burn up the switch. You need to use a relay.
And possibly a thremal breaker rather then a fuse.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2011, 10:27 AM
mcskier's Avatar
mcskier mcskier is offline
TT Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Boat: 2008 Prostar 197 TT, 350MCX, Powerslot #32/100
Location: Lake Sammamish, WA
Posts: 140
Thank you gentlemen! This is very useful info. MC kind of makes it sound like (on at least their lights) all you need to do is plug and play.
__________________
2008 Prostar 197 TT #32/100
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-24-2011, 10:38 AM
CantRepeat's Avatar
CantRepeat CantRepeat is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Boat: 06 X30
Location: Roll Tide!!
Posts: 7,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by savaiusini View Post
Thank you gentlemen! This is very useful info. MC kind of makes it sound like (on at least their lights) all you need to do is plug and play.
Well that depends.

It seems that a lot of the boats are wired for some options that don't get installed. IE I have PP dongle plug on my harness but do not have that option installed. The wiring for the tower lights, other then the wires going up to the tower, might be installed in the harness. If that is the case you may get luck on it. You could see if another member might take photos of the switch and chase down the leads so you could see how the factory was wired.


If you just want to go it alone then a switch, relay, and breaker wire up would be pretty easy to do.
__________________
Tim
Gone, surfing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical wiring, lights, tower

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 AM.