TeamTalk

TeamTalk (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/index.php)
-   Ballast (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   2 pumps into 1 sack? (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=52273)

XStar08 01-07-2013 02:34 PM

2 pumps into 1 sack?

Hi, wanted to ask if you see a problem if I have 2 pumps connected with 3-way valves to sacks and filling sometimes only one sack using two pumps (the hoses (seize) would not be changed, guess I have 1'' hoses in my 2008 XStar).

Thanks, XStar08

CC2MC 01-07-2013 11:10 PM

I am no expert by any stretch on this as I am just getting into the world of pumps and ballast myself. It seems to me that the 1" tubing can only handle so much water going through at one time and there would be a little of a bottle neck where the two pump tubes meet, provided I am understanding this correctly. Unless both pumps each have their own set of tubing. If they do, then I would think you would have to worry about venting in the sac. You have pics?

bsloop 01-08-2013 09:11 AM

Depends on your pumps.

As mentioned depends on how much volume pumps are flowing.
Bilge pumps like Tsunami or Rule should not be affected. Not sure I would do it with a Jabsco style impeller pump.

Try it and listen for the pumps sounding like they are working harder or getting hot. Also time the fill to see if there was any benifit.

Double D 01-08-2013 09:24 AM

I am going to stay away from commenting in this thread since it could go down hill quick with a title like that..... :rolleyes:

CantRepeat 01-08-2013 09:58 AM

I run two ballast puppy pumps into one sack but each pump has it's own line and fitting on the sack.

If you are talking about running two pumps into the same line I would bet you'd have to have one way valves inline or at some point the pumps would just start trying to pump against each other.

willyt 01-08-2013 11:04 AM

i'm going to vote we rename this thread: 2 pumps, 1 sac