TeamTalk

TeamTalk (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/index.php)
-   Trailers (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   how do you get your xstar on the trailer? (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=48591)

Dan2060 06-19-2012 10:20 AM

how do you get your xstar on the trailer?

Ok, peeps. I hate to admit it, but I have he** getting my xstar on the trailer. I came from a runabout and could load it with my eyes closed. I understand this comes from the fact that the outdrive is easier to manuever than the x stars rudder.
I've tried gentle power off/on to help steering, putting the wheel wells 2 inches under water, etc.

Any tips would be great. How deep do you put your trailer, how do you steer, etc.

Jason.H. 06-19-2012 10:48 AM

Well I dont have an x-star but when getting my tristar out I barely put my trailer in the water. I have a single axle mastercraft trailer and I put it in until the water is level or just under the front foot step on the trailer in front of the wheel well. This makes the top of the wheel well probably three inches out of water. If I go in any deep the nose of the bow hits the front pulley instead of riding over it and/or the toe ring hit the v-bunk. I also soak my bunks with liquid rollers (spray can product) pretty often. So next time try putting the trailer in a little shallower.

Jason.H. 06-19-2012 10:51 AM

Oh, and I also power the boat up the trailer and have someone on the dock tell me when the toe eye gets to the front roller. Slow and steady is key. Il then leave in just slightly on power so it doesnt slide back into the water and il climb over the front and hook up the strap. Ive tried just winching it up but it feels like the winch is going to rip the tow eye through the hull haha.

mzimme 06-19-2012 11:30 AM

What is it that's giving you problems? Lining the boat up? Getting it all the way on the trailer? Steering issues?