TeamTalk

TeamTalk (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/index.php)
-   Storage / Winterization (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   exhaust manifold drain plug removal? what size allen key are they? (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=44535)

pbgbottle 10-25-2011 09:32 PM

exhaust manifold drain plug removal? what size allen key are they?

quick question on the exhaust manifolds how do you remove the drain plugs .what kind of tool do you use. and in my case they look like they have never been removed .i am thinking i might have to pull the manifolds and use some heat is this a doable idea?
can i put heat to these things, i have never had them off yet and don't know what they look like on the inside .
i am the new owner of this old boat. ,i am also new to inboards . so i am learning as i go .

thanks jake

mikeg205 10-25-2011 09:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pbgbottle (Post 798427)
quick question on the exhaust manifolds how do you remove the drain plugs .what kind of tool do you use. and in my case they look like they have never been removed .i am thinking i might have to pull the manifolds and use some heat is this a doable idea?
can i put heat to these things, i have never had them off yet and don't know what they look like on the inside .
i am the new owner of this old boat. ,i am also new to inboards . so i am learning as i go .

thanks jake

allen key? what year...do you have picture?

waterlogged882 10-25-2011 10:07 PM

mikeg205 10-25-2011 10:12 PM

why would you remove those bolts to drain when the brass blug is lower than those allen bolts - for winterizing? There's hose lube you can get at autozone that is a designed for hoses... big believer in anit-seize as well....

waterlogged882 10-25-2011 10:18 PM

pbgbottle 10-25-2011 10:48 PM

1 Attachment(s)