TeamTalk

TeamTalk (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Anybody Surfing the X14? (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=29845)

squigs 05-11-2009 05:43 PM

Anybody Surfing the X14?

Hey Folks (total noobie here, so please be gentle) -

I'm curious if any X-14 DD owners out there have figured out the best setup for surfing behind their boats. I'd also be interested in board suggestions that would work well for the wave that it the x14 throws.

We picked this boat for it's amazing slalom wake and it's certainly delivered. I know it has the potential for some very nice wakeboarding and possibly surfing, I just need to learn the tricks to unlock it...Thanks!

Monte 05-11-2009 06:01 PM

JohnE needs to pay attention here.. IE Bump...

SkiDog 05-11-2009 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by squigs (Post 597767)
Hey Folks (total noobie here, so please be gentle) -

I'm curious if any X-14 DD owners out there have figured out the best setup for surfing behind their boats. I'd also be interested in board suggestions that would work well for the wave that it the x14 throws.

We picked this boat for it's amazing slalom wake and it's certainly delivered. I know it has the potential for some very nice wakeboarding and possibly surfing, I just need to learn the tricks to unlock it...Thanks!

This isn't 'The DS'!:D

No Skeez 05-11-2009 06:26 PM

I brought home a demo last summer and surfed it for a weekend. We were just using the factory ballast plus about 3 or 4 people in the back. Surfer was a Hyperlite Broadcast 4'9". Granted we are all experienced surfers, but with no additional ballast, we were able to drop the rope and go. Depending on what level you are at, a 5'6" Hyperlite Broadcast may be big enough to surf the stock ballast. Otherwise, look into some of more advance surfers, like Phase Five and Inland Surfer.

Hope this helps!

corey 05-11-2009 08:27 PM