TeamTalk

TeamTalk (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/index.php)
-   Audio/Stereo (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   2014 Fusion to Multi Function Display Integration - Wiring? (http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=62735)

longboardebo 07-25-2014 07:14 PM

2014 Fusion to Multi Function Display Integration - Wiring?
 
My Clarion headend died an unexpected death in my 2013 X55, which in many ways is a blessing as I'm getting a new Fusion 700 unit as a replacement from the prior owner (gotta love well written purchase agreements :) ) I have to buy the remotes, but I've got that handled.

What I am looking for is a 2014 X-Series owner who has the Fusion 700 integrated into the MFD from the factory that can take a look at the wiring on the back of their MFD and tell me where and with what the 700 is cabled into MFD? I understand from other searches I need an MFD update by the dealer, which I can get done.

The equipment swap out is straight forward and the replacement wiring for the amps, remotes, etc. is plug and play.

I'm guessing that the cabling to the MFD is via NMEA2000 network, but wanted to make sure before I started buying cables, etc.

If anyone has any experience with this, or knows of an existing thread I would appreciate any pointers or group knowledge :)

longboardebo 07-28-2014 08:29 PM

Nobody? So I'm cutting fresh trax here?!

I guess I'll post my findings when I figure it out....

JimN 07-28-2014 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by longboardebo (Post 1069738)
My Clarion headend died an unexpected death in my 2013 X55, which in many ways is a blessing as I'm getting a new Fusion 700 unit as a replacement from the prior owner (gotta love well written purchase agreements :) ) I have to buy the remotes, but I've got that handled.

What I am looking for is a 2014 X-Series owner who has the Fusion 700 integrated into the MFD from the factory that can take a look at the wiring on the back of their MFD and tell me where and with what the 700 is cabled into MFD? I understand from other searches I need an MFD update by the dealer, which I can get done.

The equipment swap out is straight forward and the replacement wiring for the amps, remotes, etc. is plug and play.

I'm guessing that the cabling to the MFD is via NMEA2000 network, but wanted to make sure before I started buying cables, etc.

If anyone has any experience with this, or knows of an existing thread I would appreciate any pointers or group knowledge :)

You may need adapters for the blue plugs- they don't always conform to NMEA standards, but they're nt hard to find.

dt37803 07-28-2014 08:42 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here is a photo under the dash of my 14x2

dt37803 07-28-2014 08:44 PM

Here is a photo under the dash of my 14x2 the grey cable with red blue black and white on the right goes to y connector for remotes and head unit

dt37803 07-28-2014 08:45 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Connector looks like this

dt37803 07-28-2014 08:46 PM

1 Attachment(s)
And this

longboardebo 07-28-2014 09:59 PM

Thanks this is very helpful!

The black T-connector in pic 3 appears to be a standard NEMA 2000 connector. My hope is that the grey cable with the blue connector is a standard wire on the MFD unit to connect to a NEMA 2k network. If so, then wiring this up should be straight forward.

Also, I assume you have full control of the fusion HE unit from the the MFD? If so do you also have a remote in your dash? Just curious as to why you would need a remote at the dash, is there stuff you can't do with the MFD that you use the remote for?

dt37803 07-28-2014 10:24 PM

I like to use a rotary knob for quick volume adjustments, Call me old school. The big screen does have full radio function but we tend to leave it on gauges or profile when running for easy tab and speed adjustments. Besides anyone can reach the remote easily. The only drawback is the remote turns itself off after a period of non adjustment.:(

longboardebo 07-29-2014 11:38 AM

Makes sense on the knob... Thanks again for the pics, I'll be climbing under my dash this weekend to do the swap.

Question: do you have access to the Zone Volume features from the MFD?

The reason I ask about the remote at the Helm is that I have two remotes and was thinking to put one in the bow and one at the stern, and have the MFD at the helm.

This would also free up the left handside of the dash to install a full function lowrance GPS chartplotter. I've looked into the cost of the integrated GPS map and its outrageous for a pretty crappy map.

Where we ride in the SF delta it is very easy to get lost, and right now I have to depend on my iphone sometimes to get my bearings which doesn't always get service...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 AM.