PDA

View Full Version : Any electrical guys out there

Flatwaterfooter
06-30-2006, 09:36 AM
I have a quick question wiring in a ceiling fan anyone able to help?

ttu
06-30-2006, 09:39 AM
flatwater, what is the ????

I am no electrician but I have installed a few fans.

Flatwaterfooter
06-30-2006, 09:45 AM
I added a ceiling fan to my sons room. There was not a light that existed so I had to run new wires. I want to tie it into the existing light switch that controls an outlet. My goal is to have permanent power to the outlet. The light switch will be changed out with a light/fan control switch Which has three wires. THe only wires in the back box for the current light switch is one black and one white. I have run 4 wires from the fan to the switch (Black,White,Red, Ground).
How do I wire this in to work properly.

I hope this was not to difficult to follow. Thanks

Upper Michigan Prostar190
06-30-2006, 09:49 AM
Whatever you do, dont follow TMC no1's electrical advice. If you do, next time you try to make toast, your microwave will explode and your blender will fly right off the counter. and when you use your George Forman grille, you will end up with two little beef jerky type hamburgers. :D

Flatwaterfooter
06-30-2006, 09:55 AM
I thought I had it figured out yesterday. Pulled the chain on the light on the fan and the radio plugged into the outlet turned on.

MarkP
06-30-2006, 09:57 AM
I thought I had it figured out yesterday. Pulled the chain on the light on the fan and the radio plugged into the outlet turned on.
LOL

At least the toilet didnít flush;)

wesgardner
06-30-2006, 10:01 AM
Flat,

The current switch, as I understand it, is just a switch leg meaning the wires in there are just the "hot" wire being interupted/"switched" by the switch, so you really don't have a neutral there at all.

When you pulled the chain, you just completed the circuit, similar to turning the switch on...