PDA

View Full Version : Major engine issue 89 Maristar 240

johno
06-12-2006, 12:13 PM
I have a 1989 Maristar 240 with 900+ hours on it. The engine is a 425 hp "high Performance" vs the other option for that boat which was the normal 330hp. I was running normal at about 2800 RPM and it slowed down like I was pulling back the throttle. My first reaction was to do just that and then it stalled. I tried re-starting and it would turn over and the first time or two, but then quickly stalled...the next couple times I turned the key it would just turn over, sounding sluggish like the batteries were low, and then it would not even turn over. The batteries, I have two, are both brand new and 800cca. I tried it on each one battery then I tried it on both at the same time. I noticed the engine was hot when this happened, but not pegged and I smeeled a strong burning oil smell... The oil is OK, could be changed, but not milky or empty. None of this seems too good to me, but I am not a mechanic and will need to take it to someone for serious look. If anyone has suggestions on starting to trouble shoot and diagnose this I would really aprreciate the feedback.

Thanks,
-john o

Hunterb
06-12-2006, 01:50 PM
That doesn't sound too good. You may want to try pulling the plugs and seeing how it spins then. It sounds like it ground to a halt and doesn't want to turn freely any more. I'm not sure what would cause that, other than an oil related failure of some kind. It's not normal for an engine to 'seize' while running unless it runs out of oil somehow. It doesn't sound like a battery/starter issue. I would suggest pulling the plugs and if it spins freely, do a compression test. There is a possibility that it could be in the valve train as well. Timing chain maybe? Broken rocker arm? push rod through the rocker?

I's suggest a compression test. It will give you a reasonable idea of how the internals of your motor are working.