PDA

View Full Version : How to add ballast bags to KGB system????

prostar205
06-05-2006, 05:37 PM
My buddies and I are just starting to wakesurf (we are going out on our first lesson this Wednesday, June 7th). We have been told that my X30 with the standard KGB Ballast system will need additional Fat Sacs to make the wake surfable. I would like to know the following from people that hopefully have done this to their boats.

1) Which ballast bags did you add (Fat Sac, etc...)?
2) How big and how many?
3) Can you get them to fill using the factory ballast pumps and somehow splice them into the factory ballast system?

Thanks for the help.

Tom023
06-05-2006, 05:42 PM
I've surfed off mine with no problems with just the KGB system, but I'm no expert on wake characteristics. You'll need to be able to fine tune the speed, and the PP is perfect for this. I found just around 10 MPH worked best for my set up.

djhuff
06-05-2006, 05:50 PM
Whatever you do, make sure you still have some weight up front. We would surf that boat with a 500# sac on the seats on the side of the boat you are surfing on, and then people evenly spaced down the side (not alot of weight, but suited my needs). Don't forget to put someone up front or the wake will get really washy.

the 30 is a great surfing boat, when you get it dialed (right people in the right places more so than sacs) the wake is big, and long. Lots of recovery time when trying new tricks.

prostar205
06-05-2006, 05:57 PM
djhuff -

You are talking about adding a 500 lb sac on top of the standard ballast bags in the X30 - correct?

How many people would you have in the boat?

I just want to get up and I'll worry about the tricks later.

Any ideas on how to plumb the additional sacs into the KGB system?

djhuff
06-05-2006, 06:03 PM