PDA

View Full Version : Can you change gauges in boat?


kycat2007
05-18-2006, 03:31 PM
I really dig those white gauges and black gauges in some of the newer boats. I was curious if you can change the current to the new style.. :steering:

east tx skier
05-18-2006, 03:32 PM
I don't see why not. But I haven't done it. As for the speedos, they may be designed for paddle wheels instead of pitots tubes though.

Workin' 4 Toys
05-18-2006, 03:34 PM
Can be done, just need to do some mods....

bcampbe7
05-18-2006, 03:35 PM
Can be done, just need to do some mods....


Are the connectors different?
Gauge size difference?

kycat2007
05-18-2006, 03:43 PM
My wood grain has some cracks in it and I would love to replace both gauges and maybe go billit instead of woodgrain. How would you change the hours on a newer gauge? :o

east tx skier
05-18-2006, 03:45 PM
Assuming analog, hook it up to a battery before you install it and let it run. I don't know if the digital guages work this way, too.

Diesel
05-18-2006, 04:06 PM
Depends upon how new. The later model stuff is servo driven and requires a control box (MDC Box). It could be done but you would probably need all the gauges, MDC box, and wiring harness. Not sure it would be worth the effort or the $$.

pilot02
05-18-2006, 04:45 PM
Probably more effort than it's worth. There are some alternatives though. I just changed (this week) all of the gauges on my cluster from the original VDO gauges to one of the newer styles (VDO Vision series). Looks MUCH better than original. Check out vdomarine.com there are other styles available from them and you might also check out teleflex.com or Faria. I bought some of my gauges from egauges.com and the one they didn't have from lauderdale speedometer who was actually cheaper. I'll post a pic this evening when I get home.

Workin' 4 Toys
05-18-2006, 11:54 PM
If I were to update an older boat, I'd use Autometer gauges. But thats me.