PDA

View Full Version : Hour meter?


jmyers
05-18-2006, 02:22 PM
Where do I find the Hours on my boat? Be nice! :confused:
"05" X-9 by the way!

Diesel
05-18-2006, 02:39 PM
Togle through the menu on the tach. The rocker switch is between the speedo adjustment rockers at the bottom of the dash. Same spot where the lake/air temps are.

RackAtak
05-18-2006, 02:40 PM
Does your Tach have a LED display at the bottom of the gauge face? Mine does and that's where the hours are displayed on my 2001. If you have Perfect Pass, that display should also show you the hours as you scroll through the displays.

east tx skier
05-18-2006, 02:54 PM
These new boats sure are fancy.

Leroy
05-18-2006, 02:57 PM
Being as nice as I can! Ha! :uglyhamme

jmyers
05-18-2006, 03:21 PM
Togle through the menu on the tach. The rocker switch is between the speedo adjustment rockers at the bottom of the dash. Same spot where the lake/air temps are.
I will have to check again! From what I can see I have water temp, air temp, depth, and speed control, but not hours! It does have the digital readout!

singletary209
05-12-2008, 02:23 PM
Nother request for tender responses.

I have the same question for a 2002 ProStar 209. Brand New (first owner). I have a digital clock displayed at the bottom of the tachometer and cannot find any way to scroll through what is displayed. I don't believe it is on one of the rocker switches and only ones remaining are 3 push switches that control speedo and analog clock adjustments.. I have to be missing something here.

gracias

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 02:31 PM
my 209 has hour meter at the bottom of the tach.

singletary209
05-12-2008, 02:46 PM
Same here. But it currently displays time in this format HH:MM... So I suspect it has different data to display (like Hours)... but I can't figure out how to scroll through to the different data ( I have a separate analog clock on the dash).

wakeX2wake
05-12-2008, 02:50 PM
there should be a switch beside the steering wheel to take you through different displays... time and hrs have no label on the display the rest should tell you air, water, and depth

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 02:51 PM
there should be a switch beside the steering wheel to take you through different displays... time and hrs have no label on the display the rest should tell you air, water, and depth

not sure on my 03.
i wish i had the manual for stuff like that!!!
there are three switches labeled speedo clock speedo i think. i will get some pics. whwere could i download an 03 model 209 manual??

KnoxX2
05-12-2008, 03:00 PM
i wish i had the manual for stuff like that!!!


Easy Target :rolleyes:

TMCNo1
05-12-2008, 03:06 PM
not sure on my 03.
i wish i had the manual for stuff like that!!!
there are three switches labeled speedo clock speedo i think. i will get some pics. whwere could i download an 03 model 209 manual??

Try here, http://www.mastercraft.com/index.php?znfAction=Manual

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 03:08 PM
Try here, http://www.mastercraft.com/index.php?znfAction=Manual


dang knox too bad u are not as helpfull as harold!!!!

thanks MR HAROLD!!!!!!

brucemac
05-12-2008, 03:08 PM
i have the same setup on my 03 X-2...i have yet to figure it out. haven't had a whole lot of time to check it out though.

i have digital hours listed at the bottom of the tach, two speedos and an analog clock on the far side. i'd be very curious to hear how to scroll through. i did not notice anything obvious last time i looked.

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 03:11 PM
downloading manual as we speak!!!! thanks to mr page!!!!!!

KnoxX2
05-12-2008, 03:12 PM
dang knox too bad u are not as helpfull as harold!!!!

thanks MR HAROLD!!!!!!
:cry: :rolleyes: I will remember that when you want help with the LEDs that you are not getting:D

singletary209
05-12-2008, 03:14 PM
That is exactly what I am assuming and that is why I am going nuts.... I think I am missing something simple.

I have 3 switches (not the rockers) next to my steering wheel.

---- ---- ----
| | |
| | |
---- ---- ----
speedo clock speedo
switch1 switch2 switch3

Switch1 calibrates the Left Speedo on the Dash

Switch2 calibrates the analog clock

Switch3 calibrates the Right Speedo


So what I am trying to find is how to change the data that is displayed at the bottom of the tach (temp, hours, etc...).

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 03:15 PM
:cry: :rolleyes: I will remember that when you want help with the LEDs that you are not getting:D

oh i am getting them!!!!!!! i am gonna blind u with how many i get!!!!!


i heard u ordered more than u told me u were!!!! trying to out do me huh????? i may need a 3rd battery to run all the ones i am getting!!!!!

singletary209
05-12-2008, 03:15 PM
I downloaded the manual... it's not in there.. unless someone knows how to get the operations manual.

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 03:15 PM
really knox u must be drinking at work again if u think i will have no LED's!!

brucemac
05-12-2008, 03:17 PM
ditto here, doesn't tell you.

anybody?!

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 03:18 PM
yep still does not help!!!!!

KnoxX2
05-12-2008, 03:21 PM
Did it tell you how to install new batteries....................:rolleyes: 8p

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 03:26 PM
Did it tell you how to install new batteries....................:rolleyes: 8p

nope!!!!!! i got that covered!!!!!! man we may find out how much chain u can swim with when u come to CHL!!

KnoxX2
05-12-2008, 03:30 PM
Sorry man I can't swim!:confused: :cool:

brucemac
05-12-2008, 06:01 PM
Togle through the menu on the tach. The rocker switch is between the speedo adjustment rockers at the bottom of the dash. Same spot where the lake/air temps are.

are these the same size rocker switches as everything else?

if i remember right, the only rockers i have are

courtesy lights
bilge
blower
anchor light
heater

there's 3 blanks under the throttle for ballast and then that's it

ProTour X9
05-12-2008, 06:13 PM
Maybe this will help?? '06

brucemac
05-12-2008, 06:42 PM
hhhmmm...my dash doesn't look like that...

going to go look now...

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 09:24 PM
mine does will that change it from tach to something else??

Roonie's
05-12-2008, 09:34 PM
mine does will that change it from tach to something else??

Yes scroll through everything using that button. On my 07 that is how you can see engine hours, air temp, water temp, depth, cruise control settings, and time. There are two buttons on my 07 one that says speedo and the other display pictured above.

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 09:41 PM
Yes scroll through everything using that button. On my 07 that is how you can see engine hours, air temp, water temp, depth, cruise control settings, and time. There are two buttons on my 07 one that says speedo and the other display pictured above.

thanks man mine has those buttons too but i never paid attention!! hope it works!!

Roonie's
05-12-2008, 09:47 PM
Here is a pick of mine.

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k2/Roonies_2006/DSC_0016.jpg

close up of buttons...

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k2/Roonies_2006/DSC_0015.jpg

Roonie's
05-12-2008, 09:50 PM
They let you scroll through the digital readout found in pic on the left dial and the right dial is for cruise control and clock.....

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k2/Roonies_2006/DSC_0011.jpg

Close up of digital readout options.

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k2/Roonies_2006/DSC_0012.jpg

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 10:27 PM
mine does not have the display select button
just these

speedo clock speedo

brucemac
05-12-2008, 10:58 PM
mine does not have the display select button
just these

speedo clock speedo

mine is exactly like yours sham...i tried again tonight, but couldn't figure it out...

anybody???

sham, is yours currently displaying hours? i'm starting to think all it shows is hours

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 11:02 PM
yes mine shows hours!!

that is all i think it shows!!

brucemac
05-12-2008, 11:03 PM
yes mine shows hours!!

that is all i think it shows!!

what's the little arrow on the left hand side???

ShamrockIV
05-12-2008, 11:04 PM
need a pic mine is 20 miles away!!

brucemac
05-12-2008, 11:27 PM
ha ha! mines 10! (min)

i'll get one friday!

singletary209
05-13-2008, 08:16 AM
I have the same thing as Shamrock.

Mine only displays HH:MM (clock) right now... but when I first turn it on it says depth, lake, and something else then flashes and displays the clock.

I will put a photo up.

ShamrockIV
05-13-2008, 08:20 AM
hey singletary what year is urs??

mine just shows hours but as i said i have not messed with it!!

oh crap. I took my batteries out to replace them. how do i reset the clock on the far right??

singletary209
05-13-2008, 08:22 AM
2002 Ps209.

ShamrockIV
05-13-2008, 08:23 AM
well singletary it looks like we should have the same setup!!

maybe we can fiigure this out!!!

i will run up to the lake one day this week!!

brucemac
05-13-2008, 11:35 AM
i read the "operations manual" last night

it doesn't tell you anything other than that it shows the hours.

since we don't have the "display" switch, i'm guessing we don't have the water/air temp module(s) and are out of luck. the only thing i see on the display on the left hand side of the hours is a little black arrow pointing to port side. like you two, i only have speedo clock speedo switches.

what i'm wondering is when i add PP, this won't change will it? i'm really suprised. i thought air/water temp was standard. guess not. kind of bummed, but oh well. it's nice having lake temp around these part.

ShamrockIV
05-13-2008, 11:40 AM
i have wakeboard pro and it does not have water temp and stuff!!

brucemac
05-13-2008, 11:48 AM
huh, okay. well, i'm very surprised nobody else has commented. i'd really like to know. i'm guessing we're out of luck. kind of surprised.

Roonie's
05-13-2008, 12:48 PM
i read the "operations manual" last night

it doesn't tell you anything other than that it shows the hours.

since we don't have the "display" switch, i'm guessing we don't have the water/air temp module(s) and are out of luck. the only thing i see on the display on the left hand side of the hours is a little black arrow pointing to port side. like you two, i only have speedo clock speedo switches.

what i'm wondering is when i add PP, this won't change will it? i'm really suprised. i thought air/water temp was standard. guess not. kind of bummed, but oh well. it's nice having lake temp around these part.

After looking at mine the gauge on the right side is for cruise control and PP. It currently shows clock but turn on cruise and it will then show all the settings with that. So it is seperate from lake temp, depth gauge etc which is on the left side readout. To digital readouts seperate from each other...... don't know if this helps.

singletary209
05-13-2008, 12:53 PM
Here are pictures of my 2002 PS209 Dash:

ShamrockIV
05-13-2008, 12:56 PM
mine looks like urs but mine has pp instead of the right speedo!! mine shows hours not the time!!

singletary209
05-13-2008, 12:58 PM
I essentially have 2 Speedos, 1 Tach, 1 Analog Clock.
The Tach has a digital display at the bootom (see the 4th attachment - DSC00508.jpg). The display is currently a clock in the following format: HH:MM.

When the Tach first turns on it flashes text to the left of the number display (temp, clock, etc...) which then goes away. Which makes me think I can scroll through what it displays....

But I can't find how to scroll through what it displays... I have 3 buttons (see second attachment DSC00504.JPG - these are as Shamrock and BruceMac described). The speedo buttons calibrate the L and R speedo respectively and the clock button calibrates the far right analog clock.

I can't find anything to scroll through the digital display of the tach... which means I can't even display hours... which seems like it should not have been a purchasable option (as opposed to maybe water and air temp).

brucemac
05-13-2008, 12:59 PM
Here are pictures of my 2002 PS209 Dash:

my dash is EXACTLY the same, with the exception of the dash panel.

that's so weird yours is displaying the clock. when you push and hold the clock switch up, does it adjust your analog clock? mine does. i'm really curious about this and hopeful someone can answer. there's got to be a way to change yours and i'm curious as to what the answer is.

anybody?!

ShamrockIV
05-13-2008, 01:00 PM
as i said mine looks just like that but mine shows hours!!

singletary209
05-13-2008, 01:33 PM
brucemac,

The black clock switch on my dash adjusts the analog clock, just like yours...

This is when I tend to encourage my stubborn side... I will find the answer! It's got to be something simple (like we don't have it, or hold your right hand in the air and hold for 2 seconds before pushing the clock button rapidly... :)

ShamrockIV
05-13-2008, 01:35 PM
something easy like that surely!!!! i guess i am lucky i would rather mine show hours. i got an analog clock!!

singletary209
05-13-2008, 01:37 PM
Exactly, especially after I just bought a "brand new" 2002 boat in 2008.... not super happy that I can't see the hours... while breaking an engine in....

brucemac
05-13-2008, 01:43 PM
yeah, i'm with ya singletary, we'll figure it out

Roonie's
05-13-2008, 02:13 PM
This may have been tried already. Try pushing and holding down switch for 3 seconds as this is how you change the time etc on mine as well as do a full system self test. It goes through the self test twice resetting all gauges and then returns to normal to make sure everything is operating normally. The self test happens when in temp mode.

brucemac
05-13-2008, 02:17 PM
roonie, what switch? the clock switch? if i hold down the clock switch it simply fast forwards the time on the analog clock to set it.

Roonie's
05-13-2008, 02:29 PM
roonie, what switch? the clock switch? if i hold down the clock switch it simply fast forwards the time on the analog clock to set it.

Yes the clock switch. Try pushing it up and hold 3 seconds...... This is the best I can do. I would think MC would be consistent with their switches getting them from same manufacturer over the years. I know I have an 07 but I would assume it would work for later years too. I am out of suggestions.

edit; try this on one of the speedo switches too and see if anything happens.

brucemac
05-13-2008, 03:38 PM
thanks for trying to help roonie. i'll give that another try, but i'm pretty sure i tried that.

i wonder if it has anything to do with the boat having to be on, in the water, etc. also, i wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that singletary209 and i both have the lowrance depth finder on the dash.

peason
05-13-2008, 03:47 PM
brucemac, I have exactly the same dash as singletary209 - down to the lowrance depth finder and I agree that pushing the clock button only advances the analog clock on the dash. However my display for the hour meter shows how many hours are on the engine. I have the boat out in the driveway now and will go and take a look, but I have never changed or wanted to change the digital display.

brucemac
05-13-2008, 03:50 PM
thanks peason. much appreciated. don't you think it's weird though that singletary's only shows the clock and not the hours. that's flat out weird. you don't have PP right singletary?

Roonie's
05-13-2008, 03:56 PM
Peason we had the boat in the water this weekend and came by your place. Looked like no one home. Time to put the boat in the water. Do you need help putting dock in the water too? I will be available this weekend if so.

singletary209
05-13-2008, 05:34 PM
Brucemac. You are correct.
I do not have PP.

singletary209
05-13-2008, 05:36 PM
When the digital display on the tachometer is first powered on it flashes text (all at the same time and each word is on its own line of the display next to where the clock time is displayed)... the words are air, depth, lake.

So I know the display is capable of showing all 3. I don't know that the option for my boat means that I am supposed to use all 3 readouts on that display....

singletary209
05-13-2008, 05:36 PM
Let me put it differently ---> If mine was displaying hours like Shamrock's then I would be all set. I have an analog clock, I have a depth finder, and the tach would be showing hours.... AND I would have no need to flip through the displays...

brucemac
05-13-2008, 05:51 PM
but you wouldn't have lake/air temp. ;)

i've given up on the fact that (at least in my case) it was probably an option or just not available to me on that year. but i'm still trying to help you out here.

calling the local dealer...

brucemac
05-13-2008, 06:29 PM
called the closest dealer service department, no luck

called a nice close by mc sales guy, no luck

called service manager at 2nd closest mc dealer:

he stated that at the very least (standard equipment) you should be able to switch between hours and time on the digital display below the tach. it should be the center switch, in this case for both singletary209 and i, that would be the clock button.

he thought it was very very odd. possibly a bad switch. he said to double/triple check that there isn't a switch on the left hand side by itself.

he did say it was a transitional year for the mdmc black box under the dash, changes in protocol, etc. blah blah blah, stuff i didn't understand.

could have something to do with why yours is showing the clock. maybe they ran out of switches on us singletary!!!

it could be worse i suppose, mine could display the clock too. ;)

just teasing. i'm sure we'll figure this out.

bottom line, we should both be able to switch

peason
05-13-2008, 06:35 PM
It started raining here before I could go out and check. I will try to get to it if the rain stops.
Roonie - sent you a PM.

singletary209
05-13-2008, 07:55 PM
Cool and thank you,

I will be meeting tomorrow with my dealer to go through a punch list. Will certainly post any new information... I got a feeling I'll be providing him information.

-tg

brucemac
05-22-2008, 01:19 PM
singletary209

what did your dealer say about the digital display?

singletary209
06-17-2009, 03:12 PM
Correct Part Number (From Terry at Parts and Warranty via MC directly) is 500050 for a 2002 PS209. The only data that should be displayed is hours. Anything else means a bad tach or the wrong tach in the boat.