PDA

View Full Version : Ballast Resistor Question

snivesatgt
05-14-2006, 09:30 PM
I have an 88 Mastercraft Prostar and have had it about a year. When I originally purchased the boat, it had problems starting and the ballast resistor was the issue then.

Now I am having problems with it starting after it's been running a few hours. I thought it might be the resistor again, but it seems to be alright. I was wondering if I understood how it worked since I think it may be the solenoid on the starter that sends the 12V to the coil when starting...

So - there are 2 orange wires connected to the solenoid and 2 purple on the other side.

The two purple lines going into the solenoid are the power to the resistor and makes it so that it goes through to the coil. When starting, the second orange wire is also active - sending a direct current to coil. Is this correct?

Reason I ask is when I disconnect the orange wire altogather and test if it sends volts down the wire - it was totally dead.

Sorry for the long message - but should that orange wire be have volts on it when starting? I thought the starter usually sends extra volts to the coil when starting - how does it do this?

Thanks,
Ben.

Hunterb
05-15-2006, 02:09 PM
That is correct. If you look at your starter solenoid you will see an orange wire attached to a terminal on the opposited side of the wire coming from the ignition. The purpose of the orange wire is to provide a full 12 volts to the coil when the key is in the 'start' position. It simply bypasses the ballast resistor. It should be attached to the + side of the coil. It will provide no power when the key is in the 'run' position.

I would seriously recommend upgrading to an electronic ignition system. They work much better and are essentially maintenance free.

Not sure if that helps or not. Good luck.

Bruce

Cloaked
05-15-2006, 05:24 PM