PDA

View Full Version : i need some help...

blackbeauty02
05-08-2006, 05:04 PM
...well if you read my other thread you already know my problem. i just bought a 92 mastercraft and took it out for only an hour and the prop started slipping like a transmission would in a car. i took it into a local shop and they just got back to me and it's gonna cost $2100 f'ing dollars. They have to disassemble the transmission, replace the seals, replace the clutches and replace the oil cooler (for warrany purposes). They said there is water in the transmission b/c of a leak in the transmission oil cooler. have you guys ever heard of this problem and should it cost that f'ing much? I'm hoping the guy I bought it from will help pay to fix it but you never know. I'm just so f'ing pist right now b/c I've only had it on the water for an hour.

rodltg2
05-08-2006, 05:08 PM
im no mechanic or ever had a tranny problem like that, but it seems like you could get a new one for less...

stevo137
05-08-2006, 05:10 PM
Sorry to hear the bad news. I would get another opinion from a MC dealer if possible.
Sounds high but I'm sure that others in here will respond that are much more mechanically minded than I am.

east tx skier
05-08-2006, 05:15 PM
I seem to remember reading quotes for rebuild for less than $1k. Memory fades though.

Diesel
05-08-2006, 05:17 PM
Drain it, replace the seals, and flush a couple of time with fresh ATF. I will bet it is alright..........just needs some lovin'.

Even if I am wrong your only out a few bucks and still have to buy a new/rebuilt tranny. :)

jrcarte78
05-08-2006, 05:17 PM
Here's a brand new 1:1 for $1390 @ DIM.... Don't know what labor would be?

I assume the slot would also run a bit more.

New Tranny (http://www.skidim.com/products.asp?dept=1101)

Prostar19
05-08-2006, 05:57 PM
Where did you take it to get it looked at? They will slip if it is low on fluid. I would get a second opinon

blackbeauty02
05-08-2006, 09:08 PM