PDA

View Full Version : Novice needs tune up and 4010 Carb help

hz900
05-06-2006, 05:38 PM
This is a new boat for me and I've had it out 3 times now, first 2 it ran great aside from idling rough, 3rd it was very sluggish and would top out at 35 mph with the same number of people as previous when it would do 45ish. I'm new to inboards and don't know much about carbed engines, I work on FI car V8's. Anyway I know the 4010 isn't the better carb, but because of budget reasons I'm stuck with it for now. I found the two adjustment screws on either side and from another post of mine I know what the base adjustment is and the cleaning procedure which I'll try when I take it out next weekend. When I took the air cleaner off I notice that the flap at the top of the carb was open, and the boat was in neutral (boat wasn't running if that makes a difference). I took and closed it and it closed fine, or I could open it and it would stay there as well. Somebody tell me if this is right, I was thinking it should be connected to something or springloaded somehow. Also can someone tell me how to check the floats on this carb to see if they are sticking.

I also just changed the plugs and took off the valve cover to inspect the seals, but they looked to be in great shape. Wires look good visually. Any other suggestions for tune up. BTW the engine is filthy with oil residue some of which seems to be coming from the oil fill breather cap thingy, any harm in cleaning the engine with engine degreaser and then rinsing off?

Cloaked
05-06-2006, 06:29 PM
Put a spacer plate under the carb.

Search the forum for many opinions and suggestions but the plate is the fix for your woes.

The two screws are the air adjustments. All the way in and back each out about 1/2 turn and tweak until the engine smooths, running at about 2000 rpms. You can run the engine in the driveway with a water hose into the tranny cooler / pickup or some other gadget folks talk about here....