PDA

View Full Version : Carb needs adjusting, help please

hz900
05-04-2006, 10:29 AM
I've got a prostar 205 with the 285 HP engine and the engine seems to be running rich, to the point at times I can smell the gas when its running, and I notice the last time I was out I was behind the boat 5 feet or so and could smell it pretty good coming out the exhaust.

Questions are:

1. Whats the best way to adjust the carb. Friend of mine runs a mech shop but I can't exactly take a boat in there, so can I take it off and take it to him, or does it need to be running to tune good?

2. Whats the best/easiest way to clean one because it may just be that it needs a good cleaning.

Sorry I know very little about carbs, I'm a fuel injection guy so treat me like a novice here.

Hunterb
05-04-2006, 12:19 PM
It would help to know what carb you have on the motor. If it's a Holley they are quite easy to adjust.

Post back with the make and model of carb and someone will know for sure.

Bruce

east tx skier
05-04-2006, 12:24 PM
If it's stock, it's a holley 4010 (dual feed). Apart from having extremely bad experiences with that carb, here's the mixture advice I've gotten from skidim. I'm not a mechanic, but this will give you something to read until someone more knowledgable shows up.

1. Rev up the engine to clear it out.
2. Turn air screw in until you hear engine begin to bog and miss.
3. Now, turn screw out with 1/2 increments until you hear that the engine is steady and running smoothly.
4. Repeat procedure on air screw on opposite side of the metering block.
Thatís it!

In the picture, that's not the screw that the dude has the tool on. That's just there for you to look at.