PDA

View Full Version : Cover Question

aerojt
04-17-2006, 12:52 AM
Just picked up a '93 Mastercraft Prostar 190, so I am new to the whole ski boat scene. I am curious what type of cover setup is "Factory" on this boat. My boat doesn't seem to have that setup. There is a bow assembly across the back area, almost over the motor dog house. The bow with my boat though is 7 foot long though and doesn't work too well. Are the mounts for the bow that are installed in the body factory? How do you all keep the water out of your boats with a cover on, and how do you travel with them. Thanks! Just curious what I should do for purchasing a cover.

-JT

erkoehler
04-17-2006, 12:59 AM
It should be similar to this:

erkoehler
04-17-2006, 01:03 AM
Thats kind of small...how about this.....

aerojt
04-17-2006, 01:06 AM
So you've got what looks like poles from the factory? No bow assembly in the back? Also do you tie your transom down to the trailer? The guy I bought it from said it doesn't tie down to trailer? Is this true? Thanks a lot for your quick help!

erkoehler
04-17-2006, 01:09 AM
So you've got what looks like poles from the factory? No bow assembly in the back? Also do you tie your transom down to the trailer? The guy I bought it from said it doesn't tie down to trailer? Is this true? Thanks a lot for your quick help!

There are 2 poles that snap into the cover. One goes right in front of the pylon and the other goes right behind the engine box.

I strap the boat down for 99% of my trailering. Unless I am taking a quick run to the river that is local, there are two straps that go on the back.

The straps are HIGHLY recommended!

aerojt
04-17-2006, 01:10 AM
The straps on the rear run from where to where?? The lift points? Thanks for all your help.

erkoehler
04-17-2006, 01:13 AM
I strap my boat down from the lift points down and around the frame of the trailer....you can see the black straps in this pic.

aerojt
04-17-2006, 01:15 AM