PDA

View Full Version : Damaged rub rail

iokua
09-22-2004, 11:30 AM
I just purchased my first boat, and am happy that it's an '85 Mastercraft S&S! It needs quite a bit of work, and being a newbie, I'm sure I'll be referencing this site quite a bit.

One of the first projects is to clean up the fiberglass. The rub rail has taken some pretty hard hits; the metal rail is bent down in a couple locations and rivets broken or bent. My question is whether or not I'm opening up a can of worms by drilling out the rivets and replacing the bent sections of rail? I've learned that the deck and hull are riveted together; I'm assuming the rub rail rivets are also the rivets that hold the hull and deck together. The rail has to be removed to repair a small hole in the nose, and I would prefer to "do it right".

Has anyone done this?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help! I can list the specific overall condition of the boat for anyone who is interested.

MarkP
09-22-2004, 11:35 AM
Congrats on the mastercraft and welcome aboard.. :headbang: As for the repair job, go for it :banana: :banana:

JimN
09-22-2004, 11:35 AM
If you remove the rub rail, it won't separate the 2 halves. If you really want to fix it up right, replace the whole rail and insert. A hot day is best for this because the rail and insert don't cooperate when it's cold. If the rail is dark, it can also lighten(or, worst case, snap) if it's bent while cold. Heat lamps aren't very expensive, so if you need to heat it to bend it, keep them far enough from the plastic so they don't melt.

After the rail is removed- a great time to reseal the hull/deck joint.

Crash
09-22-2004, 12:26 PM