PDA

View Full Version : Advise on what Wakeboard would be good

Quick
02-20-2016, 07:35 PM
I am a complete novice but have the urge to learn wake boarding. The older I get the more the slalom starts to hurt. I am 5'11 and 190 pounds. Not sure what brand size or anything when it comes to this. I have wakeboarded once and got right up but man did it feel weird. I was all over place, felt like I was sliding on ice and had no control. Any advice from all you pros would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Ben
02-20-2016, 07:49 PM
I'm not a pro at all. I wakeboard 2-10 times a year and ski a lot.
I just got a ronix vault last year to replace my 10 y/o cwb board. It came down to what was on sale at the time...
I'd look at evo.com or similar and find a package for $250-400.
For a new rider, I can't think it would make much difference.
What hurts to ski? Back, knees?
If knees and you are using direct drive, suggest trying 28off to get smaller / softer wake.
Warning: from my experience, wakeboard wipeouts (face plants) will ring your bell substantially more than a slalom crash or deep start. Also, jumping and landing a where but the down ramp hard on knees. It is fun to dink around with for sure though.

DavidF
02-20-2016, 08:51 PM
can't give an opinion on wakeboards but a buddy swears by Ronix for his wake surf board.

bandit628
02-20-2016, 09:12 PM
Look on Evo.com. On the search use the intermediate to beginner. Any of the major brands should be fine, they all have there beginner boards. Definitely don't go cheap on the bindings though. I would much rather have awesome bindings that fit and a mediocre board than vice versa.

GoneBoatN
02-20-2016, 10:04 PM
Not a pro but I'll chime in for some things for you to think about. Agree about looking for a decent deal on a board because you will most likely want to change in the not distant future.