PDA

View Full Version : New Home Construction Advice

6ballsisall
02-06-2006, 10:30 AM
The wife and I are contemplating building our own house (ok not building it ourselves persay) but having one built. I helped my father build their 4,500 sq ft. "cabin" :rolleyes: from start to finish and finished my own basement so I have some knowledge of the process. What I wanted to get some advice on is:

A. If you had one built would you do it again?
B. Did you "assist" with some of the construction to keep the cost down and if so was it beneficial in the end?
C. What questions would you ask builders to determine if they are the right builder for your needs?
D. If you are building lakefront what other things do you need to take into consideration that you wouldn't with a non lake front house?
E. I have heard the horror stories of custom homes going 75k over budget. How do you make sure you stick to the plan and that things go relatively within the budget guidelines?

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!

Stritt
02-06-2006, 10:33 AM
My piece of advice has nothing to do with the questions you asked....After building 2 homes with my wife.....Make sure you both agree on budget, options and all before starting..I will tell you the second home which was a custom 4500 Sq ft tested our marriage in ways we never thought about....I wish you the best of luck!

Workin' 4 Toys
02-06-2006, 10:40 AM
The wife and I are contemplating building our own house (ok not building it ourselves persay) but having one built. I helped my father build their 4,500 sq ft. "cabin" :rolleyes: from start to finish and finished my own basement so I have some knowledge of the process. What I wanted to get some advice on is:

A. If you had one built would you do it again?
B. Did you "assist" with some of the construction to keep the cost down and if so was it beneficial in the end?
C. What questions would you ask builders to determine if they are the right builder for your needs?