PDA

View Full Version : Solving the junky cup holder/motor vent on the back of the motor box

pwillcutts
02-05-2006, 09:55 AM
I'm just getting started on a complete re-upholstering job on my 1990 Tri-Star (open bow). They didn't make this model very long, so no OE skins available. It'll be a custom job all the way. I saw mention on another thread of the problems with that big junky cup holder/motor vent on the back of the motor box. Mine is a real eyesore.....I think it'll look even worse once the boat has fresh upholstery. I'm thinking of removing the whole plastic vent/ cup holder piece entirely and just upholstering right over it, maybe putting in a small metal vent where the hole in the fiberglass is left, and just having the cupholders sit in their fiberglass holes snug directly to the upholstery. Anyone ever try this ??? Does the engine need that vent at all, if you run the blower? Thanks

TMCNo1
02-05-2006, 04:08 PM
Those vents on the engine box only aid in venting engine heat and any fumes inside the box when the engine and blower are off and the engine is hot after use and its sitting at a pier, floating in the lake, on a lift or in a boat house. When the blower is running, you are at speed or trailering the heat and fumes are removed.

etduc
02-13-2006, 06:28 PM
Vents good idea. Cup holder, in this area, dumb. Does keep the coffee warm.
My Tristar, has the vent/cup holder covered with upholstery. Thinking of adding vent, cause engine box, can get really hot.

east tx skier
02-13-2006, 06:35 PM
If it's similar to the one they had on later model prostars, you might offer up the plastic piece to someone on this site. I seem to remember some people looking for one some time back.

You could probably purchase drink holder inserts like they put in the bow of some models (they're only a few bucks a piece). It might have a little more streamlined look. This is before I added the second one to my jump seat.

AirJunky
02-13-2006, 06:55 PM