PDA

View Full Version : advice . . to buy budget boat! . . and gelcoat repair!

Boogieman
02-03-2006, 10:44 PM
I'm looking for a "budget boat" :D (I'm in Canada . . but don't know how long I'm gonna stay . . so I don't want to spend a lot for a boat . .) . . . and I found a really cheap '88 Tristar with open bow . . exactly what I wanted :D . . but . . . the boat is in ROUGH shape :eek: . . interieur is... let's say . . bad!
http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/3269/boatfsmall6kt.th.jpg (http://img511.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boatfsmall6kt.jpg)

Boogieman
02-03-2006, 10:45 PM
. . but I'm more worried about the outside . .
http://img482.imageshack.us/img482/4097/boatasmall0yr.th.jpg (http://img482.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boatasmall0yr.jpg)
they drilled some holes . . and monted a "homemade" tower . . . and it has also some "spiderweb" cracks . .

i'm thinking about buying it and fixing it up so I can use it . . it doesn't have to be perfect . . . I'm a car technician . . . have done some interieur work on cars and boats . . and did some paintjobs on cars . . but have no expirience with boat hulls . . could I sand the whole thing down and paint it? . . . and how can these holes be fixed? . .

. . how on earth can somebody let a MC get this bad . . :mad:

rodltg2
02-03-2006, 10:47 PM
oh man i hope theyre not asking much for it

Boogieman
02-03-2006, 10:59 PM
hmm . . what would be . . not much?

I think the price shows pretty much the condition the boat is in . . . but . . let's hear some numbers from you guys . .

88 PS190
02-03-2006, 11:02 PM