PDA

View Full Version : Do you pay state income tax?

vegashomeexpert
01-09-2006, 01:23 PM
What state are you in and what % of income do you pay? Good for me to know in my business. In Nevada, no income tax for residents. The visitors pay it (thank you all!) through slot and entertainment tax.

bcampbe7
01-09-2006, 01:25 PM
No State income tax here in Tennessee, but we do have a 9% sales tax. Each city can add up to (I believe) 1/2% on top of the 9%.

jraben8
01-09-2006, 01:30 PM
Same with us and ours is at 8.25% after all of the govt's and special interests get their hands filled.

BriEOD
01-09-2006, 01:39 PM
I'm a resident of Fla so we don't have one.

The best deal I've heard is Alaska. They pay you to be a resident. I had a friend once who used to get a $1500 check every year.

rick s.
01-09-2006, 01:41 PM
State Income Tax in California is about 7 to 11% (roughly) depending on income.

M-Funf
01-09-2006, 01:44 PM
State Income Tax in California is about 7 to 11% (roughly) depending on income.

I paid about 9.5% last year in CA. We also pay 8.25% sales tax...

east tx skier
01-09-2006, 01:52 PM
No state income tax in Texas. Our sales tax is now deductible as well.

Brian, that is a handsome avatar you have there.

BriEOD
01-09-2006, 02:09 PM
Brian, that is a handsome avatar you have there.
Yeah, he looks sharp sitting on the stern of that boat. But, how does he look at 36 mph and 28 off on the stick? 8p

He's my hero. He got in Star Magazine. :D

Tom023
01-09-2006, 02:24 PM
Texas makes up for no state income tax partly in property taxes. Currently my property tax is $3 per $100, which is about three times what I was paying in Michigan. California is just a different animal altogher!

twieder
01-09-2006, 02:28 PM
What state are you in and what % of income do you pay? Good for me to know in my business. In Nevada, no income tax for residents. The visitors pay it (thank you all!) through slot and entertainment tax.