PDA

View Full Version : New Here - 1977 S&S

Wolf
07-25-2014, 01:09 PM
Hi all,
Just purchased a 1977 S&S from another "inmate" here...the original idea was to buy it for my daughter as she is a show skier and needs a boat, but I might just like it enough to make her at least share it with me :) The boat is overall in pretty good shape (I'm not real fussy). My plan is to run it until the end of the season as is and then start working on it over the winter. For starters I think I will want to replace the floor and carpet (not bad, but I figured at that point I'll see what else might be needed), as well as the upholstery. I'd also like to rewire the gages (some work, some don't) and run a new wiring harness for the lights. As far as the hull goes, I have one pretty good chip that appears to have gone through the gel coat, I may have to pay attention to that right away.
Since I am completely new to boat restorations (I come from the motorcycle racing world) I need to find good resources - hence my participation on here at TT. Thanks in advance for any advice you may have - go easy on me...I'm a rookie :)
Cheers,

Wolf

JMann
07-25-2014, 01:23 PM
Let me be the first to say WE NEED PICTURES!!!!

Oh yea, welcome aboard

SKIBUMM
07-25-2014, 01:46 PM
:):):):):):)

Wolf
07-25-2014, 01:50 PM
So far I only have one pic...

thatsmrmastercraft
07-25-2014, 02:35 PM
Welcome to Team Talk. Looks like you have a good boat to start with. You can get a small amount of gel coat to cover the chip until you get to fixing it correctly.

drschemel
07-25-2014, 06:06 PM
You can get a small gel kit that is easy to use here: http://www.spectrumcolor.com/ProductDesc.aspx?code=F553902K&type=4&eq=&desc=F553902K&key=it
That trailer is vintage! Some people on here have had good ideas to upgrade it so it is safer and easier to load.
Gauges and lights are pretty straight forward so that should not be a big deal. The carpet will make a big difference. Goo luck. Great boat!

Towboatcapt