PDA

View Full Version : Troubleshooting Suspected Sender Issues

Jeff d
06-19-2014, 10:48 AM
I keep seeing posts where members say they've replaced a given sender to try to resolve a lack of or incorrect gauge reading on the dash and it didn't resolve the issue. Stop wasting your money and time doing this! First of all in most cases for boats circa 2000-2006ish it's likely not the sender but rather the gauge or the MDC. The senders are very simple to test with a multimeter so you can quickly have confidence about where the problem lies.

The following should apply to just about any MasterCraft boat with an Indmar. Most, if not all of these, likely apply to Ilmor and most other boats with American marinized engines too (i.e. PCM, MerCruiser, etc.) but I have no experience with them. Most of this has been posted elsewhere in the forum but I didn't see a "one stop shop" for all of them.

Oil Pressure Sender: 0 PSI=240 ohms, 40 PSI=103 ohms, 80 PSI=33.5 ohms

Quick Test: With the key on, disconnect the signal lead from the sender and connect it to ground. Your gauge should max out. When you remove the lead from ground the gauge should return to 0. If the gauge behaves as expected then you very well may have a bad sender. If the gauge doesn't move as expected troubleshoot further with an ohm meter but your problem likely lies outside of the sender.

Note: this is opposite behavior of a normal automotive oil pressure sender. You can go to AutoZone and get a sender that looks identical but will peg your gauge at 80 PSI with the engine off and key on. You need a marine specific sender unless you want to swap in an automotive oil pressure gauge.

Fuel Level Sender: Empty=240 ohms, half=103 ohms, full=33.5 ohms