PDA

View Full Version : Tinnitus- Ringing in the ears

mitch
11-21-2005, 03:07 PM
Hey all, Brother-in-law (45 y/o) complained of this problem over the weekend and he's not much of an internet guru, so I told him I'd poke around some, and I thought you crazy bunch of MC nuts would be a good place to start. Seems to be a lot of info out there, but little to no cure from the little poking I've done. Thanks for any info!

Leroy
11-21-2005, 03:26 PM
I'm not a doctor, but I own a MasterCraft......

Just a quick internet search, looks like there are several different causes of the disease and then a range options.
http://www.entnet.org/healthinfo/hearing/tinnitus.cfm

Has he seen a doctor?

whitedog
11-21-2005, 03:33 PM
I've had it for years. :( Nothing to be done in my case. Nerve damage from a gun backfire when I was about 12 yr old. Some days it is worse than others.

mitch
11-21-2005, 03:36 PM
I'm not a doctor, but I own a MasterCraft......

Just a quick internet search, looks like there are several different causes of the disease and then a range options.
http://www.entnet.org/healthinfo/hearing/tinnitus.cfm

Has he seen a doctor?

No, but it's on his list of things to do. Thanks for the link

canadianskier
11-21-2005, 03:38 PM
my wife has the same problem, doctor says live with it, no cure, hers is just a slight ringing, has trouble sleeping sometimes

east tx skier
11-21-2005, 05:28 PM
I'll get a nice ring/howl when I'm skiing lately. Figure I've got a bit of water in there and the wind is hitting everything just right.

Upper Michigan Prostar190
11-21-2005, 05:43 PM
I'll get a nice ring/howl when I'm skiing lately. Figure I've got a bit of water in there and the wind is hitting everything just right.

Thats your prop cavitating Eastie ;) You better check and make sure its not dinged or bent:uglyhamme

ematthew
11-21-2005, 05:46 PM
Have him see an ENT doctor. There are some causes of tinnitus which are reversible if treated early.

JimN
11-21-2005, 06:18 PM