PDA

View Full Version : SCUBA testing on Oahu?

NeilM
11-16-2005, 03:10 PM
My wife and I are going to be running in the Honolulu Marathon on Dec 11 (first full marathon for both of us :eek3: ).

We decided that we should also learn to SCUBA dive, so we've taken the course here -- all that's left for us to get our PADI cards is the actual open-water certification part. [Given that the lakes here are now 34degrees, we thought we'd do the certification while in Hawaii.]

Checking out the web produced a multitude of choices, but, does anybody have any personal recommendations?

BriEOD
11-16-2005, 03:48 PM
Neil I could talk at great lengths about this. While I was their I actually taught some with Island Quest on Pearl Harbor (I'm a PADI Staff Instructor and I've been through US Navy Dive School). Unfortunately, Island Quest got bought out by Ocean Concepts (owned by two retired Marine Officers). They are pretty reputable. Ocean Concepts (http://oceanconcepts.com/OC/Page.asp?PageID=Home) If I was going to go with someone I would recommend them. This company caters more to military but are open to anyone. What ever you do, stay away from the shops downtown, they cater to Japanese tourists and their prices are way up. I have an aquanitance that does private instruction out there. He caters more to big hotels. I think he took Cindy Crawford diving while she was there. I've lost touch with him but could probably get you in touch with him if you and your wife wanted a one on one private session. He's a good guy.

In December you'll probably go to the east side of the island to electric beach, or west side to the blow hole. The north shore will be ripping! Or, you could do a boat dive. Hit the YO257 wreck off Waikiki. I've probably got over 20 hours of bottom time on that thing. Their is a good size white tip that hangs out there. Shoot me a PM or email if you want to discuss it further. Literally I dove about every weekend I was there for 4 years.

rodltg2