View Full Version : University of Louisiana-Lafayette Wins Collegiate Water Ski National Championships

10-27-2005, 11:09 AM
The University of Louisiana-Lafayette, who is exclusively pulled by MasterCraft, rallied from a seemingly insurmountable190-point deficit to win its second national title in three years as the 27th Collegiate Water Ski National Championships concluded in Paducah, Ky. Louisiana-Lafayette shocked arch-rival and defending champion Louisiana-Monroe by just 15 points in the final tally. The three-day event at Twin Oaks Lakes, which included 20 of the nation's top collegiate water ski teams competing for Division 1 and Division 2 national titles, was hosted by Purdue University and the Kentucky Lake Ski Nuts water ski club of Paducah.

http://www.tmcowners.com/photopost/data/559/2005CollegiateChamps.jpgLouisiana-Lafayette clinched the national title after its Men’s jumpers out-dueled Louisiana-Monroe’s jumpers by placing four athletes in the top-five. The team tallied 12,535 points to Louisiana-Monroe’s 12,520 points to clinch the school’s fourth national collegiate water ski title. Florida Southern College finished third — its highest finish ever at the Nationals — with 9,230 points in the 12-team field.

“Once again, the Collegiate Water Ski National Championships did not fail to impress with three days of non-stop action,” said Steve McDermeit, USA Water Ski’s executive director. “Louisiana-Lafayette pulled through in dramatic fashion to clinch the team’s fourth national title.”

Louisiana-Monroe, which was seeking to win the Division 1 national title for the 19th time, swept all of the individual titles except Men's overall and was led by senior Regina Jaquess (Suwanee, Ga.), who won national titles in Women’s slalom, tricks and overall, and finished runner-up in jumping. She scored 2-1/2 buoys at 38 feet off in slalom, tallied 4,090 points in tricks and finished with 1,660.0 overall points. In four Collegiate Nationals’ appearances, Jaquess won four national overall titles, three national slalom titles, two national tricks title and two national jumping titles.

The tournament, sanctioned and organized by the National Collegiate Water Ski Association, included 20 teams – five teams from each of the NCWSA’s four regions – from across the United States. Teams competed in two divisions, 1 and 2. Division 1 consisted of the top-three qualifiers from each region and the winner was declared the national collegiate champion. Teams that earned fourth or fifth place at their respective regional championships competed for the Division 2 tournament title. Individual titles for slalom, tricks and jumping were awarded based on athletes’ placements within their division. Overall titles were awarded in each division to athletes competing in all three events.

**MasterCraft sponsors a few skiers on the ULL team including Danyelle Bennett and Mandy Nightingale.