PDA

View Full Version : Spider cracks around tracking fin

TallSkinnyGuy
11-26-2013, 08:35 PM
You really get to know the details of your boat when you hand wax it. I hadn't spent much time under my new-to-me '97 PS190 until recently when waxing it. It seems that the previous owner must have hit something with the first tracking fin -- the bottom of the fin is ground down a little and there are some spider cracks in the gelcoat emanating out from the front of the fin. How concerned about this should I be?

mikeg205
11-26-2013, 11:00 PM
doesn't look to bad.... but I am no expert..

Stefan
11-27-2013, 01:40 AM
Is there a little ding on the first fin, where it's white? Maybe you came in contact with something?

snork
11-27-2013, 08:21 AM
looks to me the fin has been replaced too

BrooksfamX2
11-27-2013, 10:28 AM
Don't look bad to me either. I have a few around the exhaust tips on my X2........

bigmac
11-27-2013, 01:05 PM
The number and pattern of the cracks suggest to me that it tool a pretty good hit. I'd be worried about damage to the underlying hull fiberglass. Does the fin wiggle at all?

The other concern would be permeability. Gelcoat is permeable under the best of circumstances, which can lead to blistering as water accumulates and separate the gelcoat layer from the barrier layer. I wonder if those cracks wouldn't facilitate water seeping between those same layers.

TallSkinnyGuy
11-27-2013, 02:23 PM
The number and pattern of the cracks suggest to me that it tool a pretty good hit. I'd be worried about damage to the underlying hull fiberglass. Does the fin wiggle at all?

The other concern would be permeability. Gelcoat is permeable under the best of circumstances, which can lead to blistering as water accumulates and separate the gelcoat layer from the barrier layer. I wonder if those cracks wouldn't facilitate water seeping between those same layers.