PDA

View Full Version : RV antifreeze or just drain a Corvette LT1

mgs96ps
09-06-2013, 04:51 PM
I have heard that you should not fill an LT1 with antifreeze because of the aluminum heads. Can other LT1 owners and/or knowledgeable TT'ers pipe in on the subject? This will be my first year winterizing my boat with said powerplant.

Thanks

jakethebt
09-06-2013, 05:26 PM
http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=51183&highlight=LT-1+winterization

Try this link. I think all your questions will be answered. I plan a small update to the checklist when I get closer to doing it this fall.

CantRepeat
09-07-2013, 07:37 AM
I think if you live in an area that gets into single digit or teens for more then a couple of days during the winter you should always use anti freeze.

Legolamb
09-07-2013, 07:49 PM
Dry blocked my 96 LT1 last year, no problems at all.

Ben
09-07-2013, 07:55 PM
I have been draining only for at least nine years. After draining, I do also drive around and hit some bumps and ramps prior to closing the drains for the winter. Not sure if this does anything, but it makes me feel better....

mgs96ps
09-08-2013, 09:08 AM
Based on what I am reading and learning, I think that I will dry block engine for the winter. I may still fill manifolds with antifreeze though.

Jakethebt, thanks for posting the link with the checklists....they will come in handy.

CantRepeat
09-09-2013, 12:53 PM
The problem I had with just draining, which I did that for 8 or 9 years, was that these motors sit on an angle and if you just drain you do not get all the water out of the motor. If you look at the location of the drain on the starboard side of the motor, in a direct drive, it sits up pretty high on the block.