PDA

View Full Version : 2001 xstar transmission major leak!

Buchhakj
09-03-2013, 09:39 AM
I recently bought a 2001 xstar with 500 hours on it. I could not test drive the boat (I know I know) as the prop was all chewed up and I didn't want to risk damage to the boat. Long story short I noticed some trans fluid in the bilge and decided to check the fluid level. Nothing on the stick. So I bought a gallon and started filling it while checking the dipstick through out the pouring. Never got any on the stick. Then I heard what sounded like a steady pour coming from the bottom so I looked under the trans and sure enough here comes my fresh fluid straight out from underneath the transmission. I can not see underneath and have no idea how so much fluid could come out so fast. I assume a blown seal would not let this much out.

Any suggestions? I am mechanically inclined and capable of doing just about any mechanical work myself. Would like some direction as I have no experience with this type of transmission.

****edit**** I posted my results/findings later in the thread. Moral of story always check that your oil is clean and oil cooler is in good condition.

76S&S
09-03-2013, 09:56 AM
Probably the trans seal, where the shaft exit's.

Buchhakj
09-03-2013, 10:52 AM
Will this seal allow a steady stream to exit the transmission? I assume the only way to replace this is to remove the transmission?

mikeg205
09-03-2013, 11:13 AM
Will this seal allow a steady stream to exit the transmission? I assume the only way to replace this is to remove the transmission?

IMO - time to pull trans and take a look.

Buchhakj
09-03-2013, 12:29 PM
Anyone know of a good write up for removing the transmission? I've tried searching

thatsmrmastercraft
09-03-2013, 01:06 PM
Can you use a mirror to take a look before you start removing the trans?

mikeg205
09-03-2013, 01:46 PM
Kyle here posted a pic where he used the from engine mounts to move the motor up.