PDA

View Full Version : Advice on 2013 X-30 Surf Setup

JGMinano
08-13-2013, 10:55 AM
Reaching out to those of you that have experience surfing the 2012/2013 X-30. I grew up skiing behind a 88 PS 190, then spent last 6 years skiing and boarding with wife and kids with our 07 X-2). In early July we traded the X-2 for a 2013 X-30, primarily for more space, but have been really impressed with how much more nimble it is in terms of handling, as well as with the quality of the recreational slalom wake (15 off; 30-32 mph). In terms of surfing, we're total novices, but would love to maximize our experience by taking advantage of everyone's experience in terms of dialing in the surf wave.

Both my wife and I surf goofy, so we're currently filling both the center and starboard stock tanks, as well as the additional 750 lb starboard plug and play Fly-Hi sac installed by the dealer. Without adding a bunch more weight, any advice on boat speed, attitude adj plate position, and positioning of "human" ballast in the boat (any weight in bow, for example) would really be appreciated.

Specter
08-13-2013, 11:09 AM
Hey JGMinano - I have played around with all types of setups and this is the best setup I've found:

Weight - KGB (center tank) and surf side tanks 100% full. Non surf side should be 0%.
- 900lbs Sumo Sac in surf side locker
- 750lbs sac under the port coffin or on top of starboard seat

Speed - 11mph tends to deliver the best push with the cleanest wave. Faster will clean it up a bit more but you'll lose push while slower will deliver more push but the wave will get a little frothy.

Tabs/Plates - from my experience none needed on the X-30

Humans - depending on how many you're carrying I try to fit everyone on the surf side as close to the back of the boat as possible.