PDA

View Full Version : Throttle Position Sensor Bad on 2006 star MCX


craig3972
08-12-2013, 12:34 AM
I had some problems with my boat this past weekend. my mechanic read the codes and it pointed to a PPS (pedal position sensor). I assume that this part is from a car and can be purchased at a local auto parts dealer. Does anyone know what the P/N# for this item would be?

dsword
08-12-2013, 11:51 AM
We had the same code come up on our boat, same year, same engine. It happened when throttle was near idle, not fun when trying to dock. Had the part replaced at the dealer. Don't know if it is a standard part. It was not cheap.

David Sword

CantRepeat
08-12-2013, 06:25 PM
I had some problems with my boat this past weekend. my mechanic read the codes and it pointed to a PPS (pedal position sensor). I assume that this part is from a car and can be purchased at a local auto parts dealer. Does anyone know what the P/N# for this item would be?


What code was it?

craig3972
08-13-2013, 09:19 AM
What code was it?

forget the code number but it pointed the finger at the the PPS.
The part is $235.00 from my local dealer, I will just buy it there.

mcxfan
08-14-2013, 12:20 PM
Do you have a part number and where it's located???? I may be having he same issue. Once I scan the code I will know for sure.

craig3972
08-15-2013, 12:49 AM
I went to my local dealer to buy the $235.00 part and it was the wrong one, and you have to buy ( $575.00 Teledyne mfg.) the whole throttle assy for that year and model of boat. The manufacturer of the sensor only is BEI. The number on the unit is 9861 0406. I am going to try to source the part direct from them.

I did disassemble the sensor and cleaned off the contact portion of the potentiometer. It was assembled at the factory with a clear grease. I wiped this used grease off and it was very black. I reassembled the unit and going to give it a try because I wont have any option for this coming weekend. I will let you know how it goes, and hopefully post a picture.

The part is located behind the drivers side throttle panel.

craig3972
08-22-2013, 06:25 PM
I took the position sensor off the throttle assembly, opened it up, cleaned it, put it back together, and it worked without alarming a code. Fingers crossed.

CantRepeat
08-22-2013, 07:02 PM
I took the position sensor off the throttle assembly, opened it up, cleaned it, put it back together, and it worked with alarming a code. Fingers crossed.

What is the code number?

craig3972
08-22-2013, 10:38 PM
code is 65605

CantRepeat
08-23-2013, 05:28 AM
That doesn't seem like a MEFI 4 DTC code.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/MEFI/MEFI-4%20Trouble%20Codes%20%28DTC%27s%29.pdf

I assume you have the throttle by wire system, if so are we talking about the that part?

mcmx2
08-23-2013, 08:31 AM
Does this look like the sensor that you took apart and cleaned?

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/BEI-Sensors/9861R5KL20/?qs=y%252bTtbMcwHOmUDGism%2f8OiiH4uLrY1dziY9cxcY3g PG8kxcDojESlYA%3d%3d

I had the same issue three years ago on my 05. They wanted close to $600 for the whole thing. I called Chuck at BAWS and he told me that they either are fail or if it is intermittent (which mine was) they can usually be taken apart and cleaned and tightened. I did this and have had no problems for over three years and close to 400 hours now. I them saw someone post this link so I book marked it as I think (not positive) that it is the piece that goes bad and thought I may need one someday.

CantRepeat
08-23-2013, 08:53 AM
So we are talking about the TPS. I was unsure because I couldn't figure out why one would cost $600 bucks!!

mcmx2
08-23-2013, 09:00 AM
Can't repeat,

The $600 is for the whole throttle control assembly and they will not sell the sensor seperatly.

CantRepeat
08-23-2013, 11:11 AM
Can't repeat,

The $600 is for the whole throttle control assembly and they will not sell the sensor seperatly.


Ah, so it's like the fuel pump canister, you can't get just the pump from MC.

Thanks for clearing that up for me.

wheeler
08-23-2013, 12:06 PM
Nice work guy's. this will be saved as one of my favorites for future use (if needed).

craig3972
08-25-2013, 02:11 PM
Does this look like the sensor that you took apart and cleaned?

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/BEI-Sensors/9861R5KL20/?qs=y%252bTtbMcwHOmUDGism%2f8OiiH4uLrY1dziY9cxcY3g PG8kxcDojESlYA%3d%3d

I had the same issue three years ago on my 05. They wanted close to $600 for the whole thing. I called Chuck at BAWS and he told me that they either are fail or if it is intermittent (which mine was) they can usually be taken apart and cleaned and tightened. I did this and have had no problems for over three years and close to 400 hours now. I them saw someone post this link so I book marked it as I think (not positive) that it is the piece that goes bad and thought I may need one someday.

Yes it looks very similar, same brand name as well.

petermegan
08-25-2013, 05:28 PM
try: Mouser Electronics,
682-9861R5KL2.0
MFG PN:9861R5KL2.0
5K OHM CW 6PIN
BEI Sensors
$80bucks or thereabouts.

Posted this a while back, my mate in OZ found this supplier as an alternative to replacing the whole unit through Mastercraft. Is a perfect replacement. Same as link I assume. Have fun.....