PDA

View Full Version : Throttle Position Sensor Bad on 2006 star MCX


craig3972
08-12-2013, 12:34 AM
I had some problems with my boat this past weekend. my mechanic read the codes and it pointed to a PPS (pedal position sensor). I assume that this part is from a car and can be purchased at a local auto parts dealer. Does anyone know what the P/N# for this item would be?

dsword
08-12-2013, 11:51 AM
We had the same code come up on our boat, same year, same engine. It happened when throttle was near idle, not fun when trying to dock. Had the part replaced at the dealer. Don't know if it is a standard part. It was not cheap.

David Sword

CantRepeat
08-12-2013, 06:25 PM
I had some problems with my boat this past weekend. my mechanic read the codes and it pointed to a PPS (pedal position sensor). I assume that this part is from a car and can be purchased at a local auto parts dealer. Does anyone know what the P/N# for this item would be?


What code was it?

craig3972
08-13-2013, 09:19 AM
What code was it?

forget the code number but it pointed the finger at the the PPS.
The part is $235.00 from my local dealer, I will just buy it there.

mcxfan
08-14-2013, 12:20 PM
Do you have a part number and where it's located???? I may be having he same issue. Once I scan the code I will know for sure.

craig3972
08-15-2013, 12:49 AM
I went to my local dealer to buy the $235.00 part and it was the wrong one, and you have to buy ( $575.00 Teledyne mfg.) the whole throttle assy for that year and model of boat. The manufacturer of the sensor only is BEI. The number on the unit is 9861 0406. I am going to try to source the part direct from them.

I did disassemble the sensor and cleaned off the contact portion of the potentiometer. It was assembled at the factory with a clear grease. I wiped this used grease off and it was very black. I reassembled the unit and going to give it a try because I wont have any option for this coming weekend. I will let you know how it goes, and hopefully post a picture.

The part is located behind the drivers side throttle panel.

craig3972
08-22-2013, 06:25 PM
I took the position sensor off the throttle assembly, opened it up, cleaned it, put it back together, and it worked without alarming a code. Fingers crossed.

CantRepeat
08-22-2013, 07:02 PM
I took the position sensor off the throttle assembly, opened it up, cleaned it, put it back together, and it worked with alarming a code. Fingers crossed.

What is the code number?

craig3972
08-22-2013, 10:38 PM
code is 65605

CantRepeat
08-23-2013, 05:28 AM
That doesn't seem like a MEFI 4 DTC code.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/MEFI/MEFI-4%20Trouble%20Codes%20%28DTC%27s%29.pdf

I assume you have the throttle by wire system, if so are we talking about the that part?

mcmx2
08-23-2013, 08:31 AM
Does this look like the sensor that you took apart and cleaned?

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/BEI-Sensors/9861R5KL20/?qs=y%252bTtbMcwHOmUDGism%2f8OiiH4uLrY1dziY9cxcY3g PG8kxcDojESlYA%3d%3d

I had the same issue three years ago on my 05. They wanted close to $600 for the whole thing. I called Chuck at BAWS and he told me that they either are fail or if it is intermittent (which mine was) they can usually be taken apart and cleaned and tightened. I did this and have had no problems for over three years and close to 400 hours now. I them saw someone post this link so I book marked it as I think (not positive) that it is the piece that goes bad and thought I may need one someday.

CantRepeat
08-23-2013, 08:53 AM
So we are talking about the TPS. I was unsure because I couldn't figure out why one would cost $600 bucks!!

mcmx2
08-23-2013, 09:00 AM
Can't repeat,

The $600 is for the whole throttle control assembly and they will not sell the sensor seperatly.

CantRepeat
08-23-2013, 11:11 AM
Can't repeat,

The $600 is for the whole throttle control assembly and they will not sell the sensor seperatly.


Ah, so it's like the fuel pump canister, you can't get just the pump from MC.

Thanks for clearing that up for me.

wheeler
08-23-2013, 12:06 PM
Nice work guy's. this will be saved as one of my favorites for future use (if needed).

craig3972
08-25-2013, 02:11 PM
Does this look like the sensor that you took apart and cleaned?

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/BEI-Sensors/9861R5KL20/?qs=y%252bTtbMcwHOmUDGism%2f8OiiH4uLrY1dziY9cxcY3g PG8kxcDojESlYA%3d%3d

I had the same issue three years ago on my 05. They wanted close to $600 for the whole thing. I called Chuck at BAWS and he told me that they either are fail or if it is intermittent (which mine was) they can usually be taken apart and cleaned and tightened. I did this and have had no problems for over three years and close to 400 hours now. I them saw someone post this link so I book marked it as I think (not positive) that it is the piece that goes bad and thought I may need one someday.

Yes it looks very similar, same brand name as well.

petermegan
08-25-2013, 05:28 PM
try: Mouser Electronics,
682-9861R5KL2.0
MFG PN:9861R5KL2.0
5K OHM CW 6PIN
BEI Sensors
$80bucks or thereabouts.

Posted this a while back, my mate in OZ found this supplier as an alternative to replacing the whole unit through Mastercraft. Is a perfect replacement. Same as link I assume. Have fun.....

CT_2006X2
06-24-2014, 10:18 PM
I just purchased the TPS from Mouser. Thank you! I think this is a going to be a great workaround instead of buying the whole dang throttle lever and now wiring harness that you have to have. With labor close to $900 from my local shop (boat town, Austin TX). However how the heck do I install this? Do you have to take off the entire right body molding that's all black, and houses the speaker? Any insight on how to get to, and install is appreciated. thanks!

craig3972
06-26-2014, 10:44 PM
I believe you can just remove the aluminum panel that the throttle is mounted to. On mine I can just remove the top screws on the black panel and gently bend it back to gain access to the backside of the throttle linkage.

mikeg205
06-27-2014, 12:13 AM
pictures please for the rest of us.. :) somebody buy some extra parts please.. Bruce at Action Water - Corey at Midwest - Rambo Marine?

KurtG 05 X30
07-08-2014, 11:47 AM
I took the position sensor off the throttle assembly, opened it up, cleaned it, put it back together, and it worked without alarming a code. Fingers crossed.
Did you problem get solved? Im having the same issue, the dealer mechanic has replaced the throttle body and another sensor and it's still not working.

craig3972
07-08-2014, 12:03 PM
Mine failed last summer, but after cleaning and reassembly of the sensor , I haven't had any issues with it.

Asamp005
07-09-2014, 12:37 PM
Craig - when your sensor failed, what were the effects? When you push throttle down, no acceleration? Was boat put into "limp mode"? I am having a similar issue and just trying to diagnose the issue.
Thanks for any input.

jlmzaine
07-10-2014, 12:52 AM
2006 Mastercraft Prostar 197 with MCX 350 Vortec engine, factory Perfect Pass, and Drive by Wire throttle. Over the past year, I've experienced intermittent episodes where the idle becomes a little erratic. It is usually fine for some portion of the day, but it starts to act up. Idle typically surges erratically but does not drop below the typical 650 rpm. Occasionally, the check engine alarm goes off, and we turn the engine off. All this behavior occurs when the perfect pass is off. Is this behavior consistent with the problems seen by others in this thread? Were others able to replace the BEI sensor and resolve the issue? No recalibration necessary?